We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Paradise”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Quinta Heliconia

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Platanillo, Province of San Jose

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
OneHappyC...
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed for seven days at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Ms. Maite is so accommodating and does everything she can to ensure you have privacy and attention during your stay. Breakfast was wonderful every morning (thank you Denia). Even though the house is remote, you have easy access to the small town of Platanillo and the beach down in Dominical (20 min drive down the hill).

If traveling to Costa Rica, and not needing to stay in the tourist corridor, Quinta Heliconia is a wonderful place to stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pac1a
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jungle Paradise!”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Out of control gorgeous! You have to see it to believe it. It's one of those "pinch me, is it real?" type places. Beautiful stained glass windows and art, the amazing view beyond those stained glass windows, the pool overlooking the Pacific in the distance, the trails into the jungle leading to a "secret garden" with toucans and other colorful birds flying everywhere, the elegant breakfast served on the shaded patio in the morning, the lovely hostess...absolutely a highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria b
Kerkdriel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best ever ”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We were in this beautiful place for 4 nights. I have travel al around the world but this is the most wunderfull place, with the friendlyist and kindest owneres i now. You have a wunderfull villa with garden and a hiking trake around the villa. Many animals we heard monkeys, saw birds and butterfly s and many insects. Beautiful flowers. There is a very nice swimmingpool what is deep enough to swim. The rooms have comfortable beds an the breakfast is prepaired with love. I can higly recommended to everyone.
Maite thank you for the wunderfull time i won t forget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie K
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegance in the tropics!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent 9 days in Maite's beautiful home, enjoying the monkeys, toucans and hummingbirds! The home is as beautiful as advertised and our hostess went above and beyond to make us feel more like friends than paying guests. The property is meticulously manicured and maintained by Pilo. Deñia served up a delicious assortment of tropical fruits, meats, cheeses, homemade bread and smoothies that kept us full until lunch - she even treated my husband to his favorite gallo pinto breakfast served with a cream made from her cow. Top quality bed linens and a comfortable bed made for a perfect stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoNB...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Experience at this Incredible Bed & Breakfast!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This bed and breakfast was absolutely incredible! We spent a large portion of our honeymoon here with Maite and had an amazing time. The suite we rented was more welcoming and luxurious than any 5 star hotel. Maite is receptive, welcoming, warm, and went way beyond expectations to ensure our stay was perfect. Her home is clean beyond anything we expected. The only word I can use to describe the property is magical! Toucans and howler monkeys greeted us while we swam in Maite's exceptionally clean pool - which also has incredible views. Could not recommend this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My wife and I are pretty particular about cleanliness in the places we stay and Maite's home is one of the few places that went ABOVE what we hope to see!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to describe your experience in Quinta heliconia. We are pleased that you have been satisfied and that you keep a good memory of us.We still hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing