We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
264
124
42
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
124
42
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jimmy's pub the river beautiful hotel train depot basement bar self guided tour parking garage night cap modern conveniences top floor turn down service spacious room chain hotels older part a couple times wall paper the lower level
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My husband and I just returned today from an incredible weekend trip at the St James. This was our first stay here but it will not be our last. We loved the charm and unquieness of each room. Our room was very spacious with two large windows providing expansive views. The bedding was incredible, the robes comfy and the towels fluffy. The hotel is so conveniently located to explore town, but exploring the hotel itself was so much fun. Interesting areas everywhere you go. We loved reading the history of the hotel and then seeing that history on display. The staff was so awesome and friendly from the front desk to the gal that did our nightly turn down....did I mention the AWESOME chocolates for turn down???? Wow, super yummy custom made for the St James from the Red Wing Confectionary. We enjoyed food and beverages at both Jimmys Pub and The Port. The pub was a lot of fun with live music and a great vibe. We LOVED the Port restaurant and bar. Our food and service was outstanding and the ambiance is special. A very special kudos needs to be given to the bartender Lori at the Port Bar. I have not come across someone who represented their establishment so well. She was friendly, knowledgable, professional and so much fun. We loved our weekend stay and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaboGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Hi there,

Loved reading your comments, and will make sure to pass along the special kudos to Lori. Hope you were able to make it to the confectionery to bring some chocolates home with you or able to stop in any of the cute shops in town.

We are excited to see you back in the future!

Take care,

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

On our way back from the Ryder Cup we stayed one night at the St. James Hotel which is located close to the Mississippi River in Red Wing Minnesota. This is a very nice old hotel in a good location with pleasant rooms and good overall service. Unfortunately for us it was a Sunday and the main restaurant was closed. We did however eat in Jimmy's Pub which is located on the top floor with very good views over the town and towards the river. The food was typical pub fayre but the service was very good indeed. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gundogjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Hello,

Thanks for your comments. If and when you do make it back up to Red Wing The Port Restaurant is a fine dining establishment that you will want to try. Not to mention our bartender, Lori Myers makes a wonderful cocktail.

Come see us again and take care,

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed at the St. James as part of a family wedding. We arrived a bit early and the hotel graciously accommodated our early arrival so we could relax after our flight. Our room, in the older part of the hotel, was beautiful and well kept. I typically prefer B&Bs for their character, charm and individuality, so I appreciated that our room wasn't a standard, one-size-fits all typical hotel room. We had booked a Deluxe Queen as part of the wedding group and found the room was large, graciously appointed, and clean.

We went for a quick lunch in the Veranda before family started arriving. The food was delicious and service was good. We also had breakfasts with rather large groups of family the next 2 mornings, and continued to enjoy wonderful food and service. The friendliness of the staff when faced with a somewhat large and rambunctious group was greatly appreciated.

The wedding was held in the beautiful historic lobby followed by a cocktail reception in the victorian dining room and library. An absolutely beautiful setting for a wedding. We later moved to the Laurentine room for dinner.

I was surprised at how quiet the hotel was, considering there were 3 weddings there that weekend. We never heard any noise from neighboring rooms. Yes, there are train tracks nearby, as well as a train depot, but we didn't find the train noise bothersome. It seemed the train whistles were brief and the trains moved through quickly. It rather added to the old world charm.

I doubt our travels will take us back to Red Wing, but I would definitely stay at the St. James again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dkapling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Hello,

I enjoyed reading your comments and it sounds like you had a wonderful time. Wedding season is a busy time for us, but glad we were always able to accommodate the large group with ease. I do hope you are able to make it back to the St. James Hotel. We have a plethora of fun and exciting events planned for the Holiday season. The old world charm of the hotel and historical features is what makes us unique, so do not be a stranger and come back to visit when you can.

Take care :)

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The St. James is a hotel from the 1875's and has the most fascinating history. Walking into the lobby to check-in is just the beginning of a wonderful visual experience. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds, linens and pillows very comfy..We ate at the Pub and at the Veranda and loved our food and drinks!!! All staff we were in contact with were efficient and friendly. My husband and I left with wonderful memories and the one destination we can't wait to return to!!!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any room would be a bad choice....each are independently decorated!!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlsonrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Hi there,

Loved reading your comments and excitement about the hotel. Please come see us again when you can. A lot of fun events and activities are planned for the upcoming holiday season at the hotel and in Red Wing. Not to mention, we have some great holiday specials for our seasonal packages too!

Thanks,

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The staff treated us wonderfully. It was a really nice get away from our busy lives. We also appreciated that there was a business center because of course someone needed us. We loved the history and the decor.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Portia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Hello Portia,

Glad to hear you made the trip to Red Wing, MN and the St. James Hotel. We take great pride in restoring the historical features of the hotel and maintaining our uniqueness. Hope to see you back a lot of fun events are scheduled for the fall.

Take Care and Thanks for your comments :)

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews