We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
226
94
47
27
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
226
94
47
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea villas poplar river condos north shore lake superior the pub fly fishing the activities desk main restaurant get away the main lodge log cabin winter wonderland family vacation gas fireplace beautiful location ski trip long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2021 via mobile

I called ahead to see what we needed for our stay, yet we were misled and needed to buy coffee, filters, paper towels and trash bags and dish washer didn’t work. Poor communication from staff for shuttle service from the Lutsen mountain, we ended up having to find a ride back to the lodge from a stranger. The fire rings on the beach were awesome.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sarahpass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Day, Marketing at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2021

Hello sarahpass21,

I'm terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations nor ours, your unit indeed should of been outfitted with everything you listed, I'm greatly concerned that we missed this. We'll be passing this feedback on to our housekeeping department; thank you for the valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2021

Overall it was a great stay. The rooms could be a little more updated but the location is very beautiful.
The restaurant has amazing food but a little on the expensive side.
Side walks could have more upkeep as these was a lot of ice everywhere.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PeteS55124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2021

When we arrived, we placed our food in the refrigerator, the refrigerator wasn’t working, we called the front desk; the problem was never resolved. We lost most of our food. We were told we couldn’t move rooms. We should have been offered at the very least a gift card to the restaurant since our food spoiled.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank debbiewayne0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Day, Marketing at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Hello debbiewayne0314,

I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience incurred during your stay. An item such as that should of been dealt with urgently. Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you for the feedback, it will be shared with our team accordingly.

Yours in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2021

Very nice resort right on Lake Superior. It's getting expensive though, they added a resort fee. Because of COVID the Pub was closed. Lutsen Resort is a little gem, just be careful not to price yourselves out of the market!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robkS2306OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Day, Marketing at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Hello robkS2306OR,

Thank you for the review and feedback, we are very happy to hear that you find Lutsen to be a gem, we think so too. Just a quick note; the resort has always had a resort fee, however it was hidden before in the taxes, we choose to change how it was displayed in an effort to be more transparent than what the previous invoicing showed. Thanks for staying with us, we greatly appreciate the opportunity to host you as our guests, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2021

Now we’ve stayed at Lutsen resort in every season, & they’re all great! Introduced our best friends & they loved the resort as well! We all can’t wait to go back! Stayed in a sea villa right on the water, brought the dogs, it was great!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Taschaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Day, Marketing at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Hello Taschaar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are glad to hear it was a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews