We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
111
21
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
111
21
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope swing fire pit off grid wonderful weekend weekend camping shower block ample space happy children chip shop car park wild camping fantastic campsite beautiful wood camping area owls hooting the pub loos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Have been before and said we'd return... and we did. The site is even better than before, with the wash facilities having had an upgrade (fully plumbed in).

The staff are wonderfully welcoming and extremely helpful. The site is still spaciously laid out, with each pitch in the trees coming with its own fire pit.

Plenty of outdoor muddy fun for the kids to have too.

Will continue to return back to the site, year on year.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank j0113y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Wood, Owner at Fox Wood Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Thank you for lovely review and so pleased you all had fun :) See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

One of our favourite places in the world! Beautiful surroundings; peaceful and lively at the same time. Fantastic place for kids and a really safe environment. The staff/owners here work extremely hard to keep this place in an immaculate condition and also go out of their way to ensure all the campers are happy. There is so much space and you always feel like you have your own private pitch. Thank you all for having this amazing place!

Room tip: Just bring you food and tent! Everything else is here!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DayTrip59146823716
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Wood, Owner at Fox Wood Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Hi Peter, Thank you for the the 5 stars - really appreciated - so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you visit - Kindest Ian and Sarah x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2021

If you're reading these reviews to help you decide whether to visit Fox's Wood or not, then BOOK NOW! Wonderful ethos, relaxed atmosphere, clean facilities and friendly, helpful owners. Plenty of space per pitch, doesn't feel busy (even when fully booked), campfires and rope swing. What more would you need? Just finished my fifth visit and WILL be back next year :0) Thank you, Sarah!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Skip_80_Janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Wood, Owner at Fox Wood Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Wow - this review is like the gold standard review :) thank you so much and so pleased you guys enjoyed your 5th stay at Fox Wood ! We all look forward to welcoming you back next year - Kindest the Fox wood Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2021

We are returning for our third visit and it is very much the peace and quiet and family orientation that appeals and draws us back. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, plenty of opportunity for walks and bike rides, and the beaches are within an easy drive.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Q8230LVrichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Wood, Owner at Fox Wood Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Hi Richard - Thank you for the great review - much appreciated. So pleased you guys are booked in for trip 3. Look forward to welcoming you to the woodland soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021

We booked with Fox Wood for the bank holiday weekend, I believe their first weekend open or at least very early in the season.
I'm not sure if the campsite had a reduced capacity due to Covid or it just wasn't full, but either way it was so spacious. Even at peak capacity I don't think you could ever feel confined here.
Each pitch has ample space and I think most come with a fire-pit, if not all of them. They sort of vary in size depending on how many tents are in your group, but equally are so large you can have someone camp at the other end of the woodland and you're still so much further away than a traditional campsite.
There is a central carpark with wheelbarrows at either end that you can help yourself to, it really adds to the charm parking up your car and wheeling your stuff away to your camp.
Pitches aren't allocated generally which makes it exciting to go out and look for somewhere to camp.
The showering/toilets/washing up facilities were all fantastic - they were kept very clean and there was rarely a queue as there were so many.
The onsite shop appears to sell a few soft drinks, chocolate and ice creams, however it also has a huge wood store where logs and kindly can be purchased. Their opening hours are extensive and leave scope for the last minute decisions to buy more bags of wood for the evening.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Wood, Owner at Fox Wood Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Hi Daisy - so pleased you guys enjoyed your long weekend stay at Fox Wood, and we really appreciate your kind comments about the woodland and the fab 5 star review :) Look forward to welcoming you back next time

KIndest - Fox Wood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews