We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
72
30
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
30
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub ice cream paddle boats banana split log cabin toast get away beautiful grounds the main lodge every night the owner beautiful place family reunion plenty of space free banana last night yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and another couple share a short anniversary getaway and could not have been more happy with our short stay at The Shack. The cottage / cabin feel was a nice change of pace and our rooms were clean and well kept. We enjoyed a walk on the trail, the spacious room with a fireplace and a place for us to spend time with friends. As an ice cream fanatic, the banana splits were a great addition to set The Shack apart from anywhere I've stayed before. We will definitely return and have already recommended The Shack to others.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank busitraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed as a family, along with our extended family group. We had 6 rooms all together. Very nice secluded setting on a beautiful lake, we enjoyed the riding the pedal boats. The dinner cookout at the pavilion was good, also the breakfast buffet was simple, but good. The banana splits were good! We really enjoyed the hot tub in our room. Be sure to checkout the museum.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Livery east with a hot tub and fire place! Was large and spacious!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28ryoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The Shack is set in a beautiful area on a small lake. It has a very "lodge" atmosphere. The staff was friendly. The dinner that comes with the price of your stay was ok, as well as the breakfast buffet. The best part of the Shack is the beautiful view from the back porch area, out toward the lake. We had a room on the ground floor that looked out over the lake, which was very nice. They have paddle boats for free that you can take out on the lake, as well as rent a kayak or canoe. The internet was pretty weak. The rooms could use some updates with paint, pictures and linens. For the price of the rooms that include dinner and a breakfast buffet, we thought it was a pretty good deal. We enjoyed it and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room looking out over the lake is a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mountainerlover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Staff was very accommodating. Party of 50 came in, and all were treated as individuals. Buffet was simple but good. Quiet area that has many benches tucked away to sit and watch the scenery. The included banana plaits were a bonus, dipped by a guy that has been doing it for over 30 years. We were pleasantly surprised to get a room in the grainery. It had hot tub and electric fireplace. Nice escape from our crowd friends for awhile. Room is clean rustic looking with cabin theme throughout the campus.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out their museum!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Great getaway with my fiance. Clean friendly affordable and quiet. Great date night! The lake was fun and the hot tub in the room was nice. Needed this quote place to relax and have a great date night.

  • Stayed: May 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwyant01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews