We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
44
40
14
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
40
14
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk pull out bed home away from home the breakfast area deep cleaning large living room a newly renovated room living area wedding block housekeeping staff hot breakfast comfortable rooms business meeting a great stay stayed for nights would stay again pool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stayed here for three nights and had a pleasant stay. We had two rooms, one with my 78 year old mother. We booked two rooms. My mother checked in a day early and received our room which had a pull out bed and was beautifully remodeled. We didn't realize until very late in the evening after a long day of funeral duties, that our room didn't have a pull out bed. There wasn't an available room or roll away bed so one of my daughter's had to sleep on the floor. Not a biggie but would have been nice to have been told at check in when they saw that we had our two daughters with us rather than discover late at night.

Still we really enjoyed this property. Breakfast was great and even the room we had which wasn't remodeled yet was clean and comfy. Loved the outdoor pool and spa. Breakfasts were good and almost everyone was very friendly. One day there were two younger women working the front desk. They sat there gossiping and looked at me like how dare I interrupt their conversation when I entered the sundries shop. I needed to get feminine products for the same daughter that had to sleep the previous night on the floor. Sadly, they don't have any for sale or on hand for female travelers. They really should have some available for purchase or for free. I went through the lobby a few more times and same two women were still sitting around gossiping. I travel all the time and this is definitely a first. Shout out to the evening lady who helped my elderly mother, the breakfast worker and the young man who worked the other day shifts. He was definitely a hard worker. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

My husband and I had a very pleasant 7 night stay at the Staybridge. We wouldn't have known there were renovations going on, except they informed us. The furnishings in our room were a little on the "tired" side, but everything was immaculate and very comfortable. Housekeeping scores 5 stars. The breakfast buffet is excellent and on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evenings a complimentary buffet dinner is served.
The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The front desk was very accommodating about our needs. When we unexpectedly had extra persons staying with us one night, they furnished a crib and waived an upcharge.
We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which turned out to be good because one of the two elevators was not working due to remodeling.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a 1br suite that suited myself, my husband & 16yr old daughter perfectly. We had called well ahead of our arrival & asked for a room away from the current construction & a newly renovated room if possible. Both our requests were met.
The check in area is basic but beyond that is the lobby area that doubles as the breakfast area in the morning and it's very welcoming with a fireplace, couches, tables and chairs (I assume the evening receptions are here too but we stayed Thursday evening and checked out Monday morning so never experienced that complimentary part of the service).
Just outside of there is the patio and the pool and hot tub which were not yet open for the season (although it was lovely and hot - perhaps they could think of opening it before May 30th?). The are is very nice, quiet & relaxing & also offers 2 BBQs ready to use with cooking utensils (we made use of them one night with a group of friends and had a nice night of the patio with burgers, sausages & chicken).
We were VERY pleased with our room! It was very modern and had a condo feel to it. The kitchen had a breakfast bar with 2 stools for eating around (there was no kitchen table in either the 1 or 2 br renovated suites, however there was a table in the non renovated suites as they had no breakfast bar. I compare the interiors to the renovated ones as being like condos and the non renovated ones as being a little more cottage style. Both were still great!). The kitchen was stocked with just the basics but has a full sized fridge with an ice maker in the freezer (just make sure you turn it on as soon as you arrive), a full sized microwave and a two burner cook-top.
There is a large living room with a couch with a pull out bed & tv, giving you lots of room to move about.
The bedroom has doors that pull shut (almost like closet doors so they don't block out a lot of sound from the main area but they are still good at separating the areas). The bathroom is in the bedroom area but the sink is open to the bedroom and can't be closed off so if you're using that area, it will disturb someone if they are trying to sleep (lights and noise). There is a door separating the shower and toilet.
We travelled with a large group so we also saw the studio rooms as well as the 2br suites. The studios were great as well! Still very spacious with the same full size kitchen appliances, just a smaller area and no breakfast bar or kitchen table and obviously no division between the bed and living area, but still a great couch area and the bathroom was the same. They were impressive and would suit a single or couple just fine. The 2br had a smaller kitchen than the 1br (slightly larger than a studio kitchen and with the breakfast bar) and had a bedroom off each side of the main living area. It was very spacious and ideal for larger families or people wanting to share to save money instead of getting two rooms. Each bedroom has their own bathroom, so it's ideal.
The staff is what makes this hotel even better! They are so friendly and go out of their way to do whatever they can to make your stay the best that it can be! The lady that cooks breakfast (I'm so sorry I didn't get your name) is so hard working and does whatever she can to make sure everyone is happy with their breakfast! A few mornings we saw people show up well after breakfast was over while she was cleaning up. She asked how many people were staying and put together some bagels & cream cheese & other goodies for them to take to their rooms (every other hotel I've been to just says breakfast is over & leaves). She went above & beyond to ensure they were happy! Marina at the front desk was always walking around to make sure the complimentary coffee & tea in the lobby area was full & fresh & that everything else was in order. The housekeeping staff always met you with a smile & a "good morning" as you passed them in the hallway. Everyone was always asking if there was any way they could help. They are a wonderful group of people!
We loved it so much we've already booked for our annual stay for next year! This is truly a hidden gem!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kylieker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

This is the best place to stay in the Utica area. The employees are the absolute friendliest people From the front desk to the maid service to the breakfast room. So refreshing to feel like they are really glad you are there. The breakfast food was delicious and they even offer an evening meal. The rooms are comfy and spacious. Very clean even during renovations. Highly recommended!!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I last reviewed this hotel in late 2017 giving a 3 of 5 positive review and was pleased to see their renovations have made a tremendous improvement. Late feb'18 1 night stay and my room was very nicely updated including the kitchen cabinets, new comfy bed and quality bedding & pillows, even new & modern floor tiles in the bathroom. They offer a very nice breakfast buffet with tasty options. If you've passed on SSDU because the décor was dated, you should definitely reconsider for your next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beenthereanddidthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews