We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Newly Renovated, Great Area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Union Pier, Berrien County, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wanderer1...
1 review
“Newly Renovated, Great Area”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The duplex is recently tastefully renovated, very comfortable and clean. There is a small washer and dryer and the kitchen is stocked with all the plates, pots, pans and cutlery etc that you need. Albert let us in and was helpful and welcoming without being overbearing and gave us the information we needed as well as a keycard for the private neighborhood beach. Then he left us to enjoy our stay! There is a window unit for air conditioning and ceiling fans in the bedroom. The air conditioning cools the whole place well.
There is a sizeable back deck to enjoy meals outside, and a fenced-in yard that is perfect for kids and dogs to play in. There's also a charcoal grill and a fire pit for guests to use. The place is in Lakeside, right on the border of Union Pier. The beach is just a few blocks away and is beautiful. The walk there is very pleasant, but I would suggest having a stroller or wagon to take if you have small children as it's a little far if you are carrying a ton of stuff and kids! We really enjoyed our time here and would definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for staying at our place. We'll be happy to see you back any time .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek71523...
1 review
“Disappointing all around”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We arrived at the duplex and it was pleasant-looking and clean. But sadly, there were three major problems. First, the lake, which was stated to be a couple of blocks away, was nearly a half-mile from the house with no available parking at the gate. Second, the "AC" consisted of a window unit in the main living area -- none in either bedroom. My husband could stand the ceiling fan in the bedroom, but I had to sleep in the living room! And third, there wasn't any available Television -- the only thing available had to be purchased! We left for home the next morning. Never again!!! And no refund was offered!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that the cottage didn't meet your expectations. Please allow me to address your concerns.
The distance to the beach is a 5 minute relaxed walk (0.3 miles according to google maps).
There is an air conditioning unit in the living room and a ceiling fan in each bedroom, and I haven't received any complaints about the air in the past.
Lastly, the television in the unit does have a high speed internet connection for guests to enjoy variety of free channels including several network news channels as well as Netflix at no charge.
Once again, we are sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay. We are always looking to improve our guests' experience , and we appreciate your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
1 review
“Great place to get away from it all!”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Nicely renovated, very clean and comfortable. Quiet neighborhood with lush greenery all around. Fenced in backyard where our pet could play and enjoy the outdoors without any worries. We thoroughly enjoyed this peaceful hideaway and the private beach area. The rental owner and his wife were kind and welcoming, and the other vacationers and neighbors were friendly as well, which made the stay all the more enjoyable. The beds were comfortable and easy to sleep on. The bathroom featured a wonderfully modern shower, and filled with plenty of towels. The full kitchen had quite new appliances and full cabinets of all the necessary utensils you'll ever need in this home away from home. The WiFi connection was strong and speedy as well. We truly enjoyed our pleasurable stay and you will too!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie W
Logansport, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing, peaceful getaway...”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
7
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful time we had the week we spent at the cottage. The private beach was great. We had it all to ourselves every day. The house was more than comfortable, very soothing and the area is peaceful and quiet. Just what we needed to unwind and de-stress. Everything is easy to get to. The house had everything we needed to feel at home. Our host was very gracious in meeting us upon our arrival to give us tips on the area and show us the private beach. We were even welcomed with a bottle of wine, which was very thoughtful. This was our first time renting a vacation home and using flipkey. Our host made it easy and was very accommodating. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking to get away and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful accommodations and the beach.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanie...
deerfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, newly renovated house near the beach”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I arrived at the house to find a bottle of wine and beach chairs waiting for me. I was vacationing with my boys (12 and 13) and my mother came for a night. The house was beautifully decorated, completely renovated. The bathroom feels like you are in a spa and has space for all of your toiletries. There is plenty of matching dishes and silverware. The pots are great - which is unusual in a rental. I felt like I was in a private, secluded area while being in the middle of the union pier beach neighborhood. The owner was friendly and available for any questions or concerns. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing