We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting and great food!”

Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Pellston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse, known to locals as the "DLB", has a rich history of providing great food and service in a rustic log building overlooking Douglas Lake. The two giant fieldstone fireplaces offer the perfect dining ambiance during the winter* and shoulder seasons. Summer guests enjoy live acoustic music at the lakeside patio or dinner on the screened-in dining porch.
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We planned a drive on a beautiful summer day with friends ending here for dinner. We did not expect the stunning setting on Douglas Lake! What a beautiful place that has been here for years, and we had great service from nice people, great food, and just a beautiful dinner. We sat outside on the porch, next to the hummingbird feeders with their busy little guests! It was a wonderful evening and we were impressed with the number of families that dined here and then sat out on the chairs on the beach, enjoying this beautiful place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 965kimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrimpLenny, Manager at Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thanks Kim, we can only take credit for a small portion of your overall experience and are pleased you had such a wonderful evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Twenty years later and it’s still my favorite place to dine. The atmosphere is relaxing, the servers are professional, and the food is excellent. I was surprised to find limited seating available at 5:30 on a Wednesday. I guess that means the word is getting out about this gem of a restaurant. ❤️

Thank dglslkmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrimpLenny, Manager at Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you very much. It's good to know that our hard work is appreciated. Yes, good news travels fast, and it has been a very good summer so far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We've been customers of the Douglas Lake Bar for many years. Made a reservation for 4 at 5PM and noted that we might only be 2. When we arrived at 4:50 we advised that we we're only going to be 2. The place was empty yet they insisted we take a tiny table. Very poor form on their part. Bad, Bad customer service on their part. We had a short meal and left a nice tip for the waitress since it was not her fault. Bill and his team are on our BAD LIST. Obviously there just trying to squeeze the last dime out of the tourist season.

Thank studdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We came for dinner & had a great time. We sat outside on the patio & the view is spectacular. Our waiter was on top of his game & the food was delicious. Definitely a restaurant to come to.

Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrimpLenny, Manager at Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thanks Matt, we wish we could take credit for the view. Your comments make the staff feel very good about their efforts. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This place has never failed us. We have been here over 20 times and is always wonderful. We are very picky too. The staff seems to be choreographed. One coming out with a loaded try while another gracefully ducks under. The food is ALWAYS great. I hate to see it get busier because it’s sooo busy already. However, they deserve this great review. They have earned it over and over. The staff is amazing. They never seem flustered although I know they have to be with this much business.
Their steaks are the best but their seafood is perfect.
I will say that my husband and I always share a steak and still have food left on our plate. We don’t share seafood dishes though but still is more than enough.
Well done all. See you again soon.

Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShrimpLenny, Manager at Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you very much Debra, firstly for your patronage, secondly for your kind review. It's often said matter of factly "keep up the good work", but you keenly noticed the key to it all. The staff doesn't get flustered. Without them keeping the place running smoothly your experiences wouldn't be as wonderful. Thanks again and I'll certainly pass along your comments. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse also viewed

Pellston, Emmet County
Pellston, Emmet County
 
Pellston, Emmet County
Pellston, Emmet County
 
Brutus, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Douglas Lake Bar & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing