We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome home near Pictured Rocks”
Doc's place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doc's place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Doc's place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Munising, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vera R
Oakland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome home near Pictured Rocks”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited the Munising area in September to view and hike the Pictured Rocks as well as visit other points of interest in the UP. Our rental home was in a perfect location. Located right downtown in walking distance to most everything, and a few short blocks from the Pictured Rocks tour boats.
My husband and I traveled with 2 other couples, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. The interior of the home was impeccably taken care of and decorated. The home was confortable and inviting. It appeared to be recently renovated and done quite well with a nice mix of modern and antique pieces. The kitchen was wonderful and all appointments were done high end. The bedrooms were comfortable and bedding and mattresses were good quality. We would highly recommend this rental for your visit to the Munising area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, very clean and updated
Liked least: Love it all!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Thanks Vera, we hope you will return soon! And hope you will try out one of our other vacation homes in the area too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akubisak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Little Cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Downtown cottage was lovely and perfectly located. We were able to walk through downtown, to Pictured Rocks Cruises, and to the Glass Bottom Shipwreck tour dock all from a great central location! The cottage was also decorated beautifully and you can see Lake Superior from the kitchen window!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Thank you for the review, but I just noticed this review is in the wrong place, so for those of you reading this, this review is for the Cozy Harbor Cottage, not Downtown Historic Home. Harbor Cottage is located next to this Historic Home, both are beautiful vacation homes, but this review is for the smaller cottage, 2 bed/1 bath. Let me know if you have any questions. Lisa :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach D
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Doc's Place was an excellent rental home for our large family's 3 night stay in Munising. Munising is conveniently located in the UP, super close to pictured rocks and other great nature sites. The house itself was clean, recently renovated, and plenty big even for our large group.

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in the area.

Thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Thank you Zach! I hope you'll be able to stay again.

Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happytrav...
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in Munising”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This home is known as Doc’s Place. It is a very well-maintained home on the main street in Munising. There is a view of Lake Superior from the house and its backyard. You do share the rather large backyard with the other rental on this property. There is a patio with two tables and an upper wooden deck that are just for the use of those staying at Doc’s Place. I thought being on the main street might be noisy, but it was not noisy at all.

We were a group of ten people: Six adults and four children. The home is not young kid-friendly (no porta-cribs or high chairs), but it is truly spacious and lovely. It was definitely worth having to pack our own porta crib. We debated back and forth between motels or this home. We were so happy we chose the home.

The kitchen is well stocked. We did use a lot of disposable products, mainly because we had children and didn’t want to break any of the lovely dishes/glassware. There is a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, range and microwave. The laundry room includes a washer and dryer. The bedrooms were all spacious and nicely decorated. There are two bathrooms, which worked out well for the ten of us. At some point an all-season room was added to this home. We made this room into the child’s play room. It was so nice having a place they could call their own and it kept their mess all in one location in the home. The kitchen is huge with a large table that seated our entire group. The living room is also spacious. The air conditioning is unique. You need to keep the bedroom doors open in order to benefit from the cooling system. We rented this home when the temperatures were in the 80s and the home stayed very comfortable. The home included internet which worked well. There was a TV, but we are not big TV watchers, so I can't comment on the channel selection.

You are walking distance to the Pictured Rocks Cruises, a playground, supermarket, restaurants, shops, ice cream stores, etc. This location was truly perfect for our needs!! If we are in the area again, we will definitely consider Doc’s Place. The rental agency was always prompt to respond to our questions, even when we had finally arrived at the home. The reservation process went smoothly. I highly recommend this rental as your home away from home when you are in Munising. It was a great stay at a warm and inviting home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and spaciousness of the home and well as the location
Liked least: Honestly, nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinal1641
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ladies Ice Climbing weekend”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had ten women traveling from all parts of the country for Michigan Ice Fest so I decided a rental house would be a good option so we could all spend time together. Doc's place was just wonderful.

The kitchen is open to the dining room so we had plenty of room to congregate and enough space to plug in two crock pots full of chili. The living room was roomy and some of the ladies loved the fireplace so much they pulled out their sleeping bags and slept in front of it.

There are two full baths one upstairs and one down. With ten women I thought this may be an issue but we all seemed to know when it was empty and took our turn.

The bedrooms and beds were brand new and wonderful down comforters covered each one. There was also two blow up (motorized) twin beds. We used the two blow up beds as the hide-a-bed was not very comfortable. These beds were easily inflated/deflated and very comfortable. Our only problem was we could not find any sheets for these beds. So if you are going to use them you will need to ask that before hand.

There are two keys and make sure you have them both if you travel with a big group where everyone is coming and going as the neighbor does not have a key. Cudos to that neighbor too as we were out there shoveling snow and he came out and used his snow blower for us.

The location was good and we walked to our downtown destination.
I would rent this place again in a heartbeat as it gave our group the ability to hang out in a cozy environment.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing