We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for my stay.!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Munising, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BarbandMi...
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for my stay.!!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The location downtown was just right for my month long stay in Munising this winter to ski and enjoy all the winter recreation. Love the cozy kitchen to cook breakfast in along with a comfortable living room area to read books or watch TV.
The cottage is very clean and decorated just darling. I have stayed at this cottage before and hope to return for another visit in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2018
Thank you so much Barb! We hope to have you back again next winter. Feel free to contact me anytime: 906 202 2677.

Lisa :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane E
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Downtown Cottage is one of the cutest and cleanest homes we have ever rented! Perfect size for my husband, myself and our little dog. Well thought-out details made our stay totally stress-free. Especially enjoyed sitting outside in the garden having coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening. Great view of the lake! Munising is a very small town and it was nice to be able to walk to both the boardwalk and downtown restaurants/shops. This cottage is also a great central location for day trips to the Tahquamenon Falls and Marquette. I would HIGHLY recommend the Downtown Cottage to those who want to visit the UP but arent really into "roughing it." Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeardLady
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From the minute we walked into the cottage, we loved it. It's thoughtfully decorated and supplied and offers all the amenities you'd need (including AC, wifi, and a fully stocked kitchen with dishwasher, as well as satellite TV, DVDs, and books to enjoy). We felt right at home and loved being close enough to walk to anything in Munising, while having the peace and privacy of our own space. We would absolutely come to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything we could possibly need was already there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01s
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This charming cottage is just right, like Baby Bear's in Goldilocks! The location is perfect for walking everywhere around town and features an incredible view of Munising Bay and Grand Island. The sunrises and sunsets are in full view right from the kitchen window. The newly renovated cottage features all the modern conveniences of home while retaining some of its former charm like the old plaster door archways.
We truly felt like this was our home away from home.
The cost was cheaper than many of the econo-priced hotels in town with many more comfortable features like the fully stocked kitchen ready to prepare anything, a gas grill and outdoor patio. While we didn't cook dinners, the convenience of having snacks, drinks and breakfast and lunch on hand was great. The linens were high quality cotton with a good thread count and towels were more than plentiful and thick and fluffy. The mattresses were in great shape. The living area featured a satellite dish with flat screen TV, loads of great books and was well appointed. The WiFi was never a problem connecting or maintaining a connection.
website: http://www.hiawathashideaway.com Lisa Schramm, the lease agent, is very easy to work with during reservations. (Note: the name of this place is the DOWNTOWN COTTAGE, NOT Harbor Cottage) If you're not familiar with Michigan's Upper Peninsula, Munising is centrally located along Lake Superior and can be a jumping off point to many mini-excursions to other towns and attractions about the peninsula so you can come home to the same place every night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it truly felt cozy and comfortable (and clean to my expectations!)
Liked least: Leaving . . . I could spend a month in this cottage easily and someday I might!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ledge
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Thanks for the review and I hope you will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing