We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Boat House Review”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

Located waterfront
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Located waterfront
Location on Lake Macatawa next to Lake Michigan The Big Red Lighthouse and Private Lake Michigan Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Located waterfront
Location on Lake Macatawa next to Lake Michigan
The Big Red Lighthouse and Private Lake Michigan Beach
There is a Large Dock out front
Bedroom 1 with TV and Lake Views
Bedroom 2 with wood varnished walls
The Channel from Lake Michigan to Lake Macatawa
Bedroom 3
Living Room - Aslo, there are 2 twin beds in this room
Relaxing at the Beach
One of two dining areas
The view from most rooms and the deck.
Sunset Views
Bunk Beds
Enclosed Porch - 3 Season
Large lawn for Volleyball, Bag-O, Badminton, and more...
Historical - The Boathouse arriving by water
Historical - The Boathouse on its barge
Historical - The Boathouse being rolled over timbers onto its new location
Charter Fishing is Available
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Macatawa, Allegan County, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul L
Old Hickory
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boat House Review”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Classic clean elegant mariner shabby. Delightful, no mattering negatives, perfect location and ambiance for sailors. My first choice next regatta.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NextStopI...
Antrim, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great house, Incredible location. Sooo relaxing.”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our extended family has stayed in many vacation homes in the Holland, MI, area over the last 20 years. Each has its charm, and each has met our family needs differently as our children have grown and the grandparents have aged. Right now, we are loving The Boathouse, and are headed back for our third year. We can't wait.

The Boathouse is a unique building. If you are reading this, you have probably already seen the listing, read the description, seen the pictures, and maybe know some of the history. So, I won't try and explain the building. Suffice it to say, this is a one of a kind space - long, large, spacious and with a few oddities - did I say unique? There are three bedrooms with Queen beds, one with Full, one King, and these are all upstairs. A room that you might want to think of as the Living Room is also upstairs, is very large, and has the TV and L-shaped sectional sofa. It also has two single beds. While it may seem odd to have the living room upstairs, that is actually best, as you will probably spend your time anywhere but there, except for the occasional movie night, or teen/young adult retreat.

Downstairs, walking from one end to the other (it is a long house, remember) you move from the Florida Room, with windows all around. A great sitting room with view of Lake Macatawa, and small dining area (one of four). You walk into the house and into a dining/breakfast nook/sitting area. Walk through the kitchen to your left, or around the stairs to the right to the front door or farther back in the house to the actual dining room. You will only dine there on bad weather days, but it will seat everyone. Beyond the dining room is another bedroom, with Full/Single bunk and a day bed. Then you can walk out the bedroom to the sheltered deck. The master King bedroom completely overhangs this deck, giving shelter from the elements.

The deck wraps around the back of the house to the kitchen and the Florida Room, with steps to the lawn and about 25 feet to the water's edge. This is why you will not use the living room or the TV. You are going to spend any idle time sitting here, alone or with others, sipping your favorites of the moment, watching the activity on the lake, listening to the gentle swell of the lake and the clanking of masts and lines as the boats sway in the marina. The Boathouse sits at the edge of the Eldean Marina, near the mouth of Lake Macatawa, a short walk to Big Red. Or you can walk out to the end of your own (50 foot?) dock, tie up your own boat, or just watch from a more personal vantage. At night, you can shift over to the brick patio and fire pit and enjoy a fire at the water's edge. The Eldeans provide the firewood and plenty of chairs.

So, what is odd? Well, some may find it odd that one of the routes to the deck is through the downstairs bedroom. This may require some negotiating and agreement. The kitchen has produced some great meals for this family of ambitious cooks. It is a bit small and can get cramped with several folks shuffling around at once. But it has everything you need, all current appliances, adequate storage, and besides, what's a little closeness among family or friends? The bathrooms - two with full bath upstairs, and one 1/2 bath downstairs - are small and a bit dated. But this is a house that was built and adapted in another era. Bathrooms were smaller, then. Furnishings are a mix, but everything works, spaces are flexible, tables are movable, there are so many places for people to be together or separate, and more than enough chairs to accommodate all of this.

The Boathouse is located in the private Macatawa community that includes access to the private Lake Michigan Beach. This is a beautiful beach, never crowded, and a short walk from The Boathouse. A vendor at the Marina rents kayaks and bicycles, or you can bring your own. Big Red and the Channel entrance to Lake Macatawa is a short walk. The Boathouse is about 15 minutes from downtown Holland, and there are some nice restaurants along the route, and a small market with excellent butcher shop. But this is a quiet and less commercial road, compared with the road to Holland State Park on the other side of Lake Macatawa.

Families with very young children may want to take note that the back lawn, between the house and the lake, ends at about a 5 or 6 foot drop into the water and rocks. There is no guardrail or fence, so close parental/adult supervision is essential. There is plenty of other safe lawn for kids to play on. But this house is at the water's edge. That is its beauty and attraction.

We love this place. Can you tell? We have had some of the most relaxing personal and family times ever at The Boathouse, and are looking forward to this summer, too. You will too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jzhou002
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The house is at a perfect location.”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed two nights, we really enjoyed the house and its sourroundings. We walked to the beach and the red lighthouse, watched the sunset, From the bedroom windows we can see the harbor and boats, lake water. The hosue is clean and spacious.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 10 December 2010 for a stay in July 2010
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: LOCATION to water (pool, beach, lake)
Liked least: no barrier by water when small children are present
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing