We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
163
16
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
16
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin victorian suite lake michigan white room breakfast was amazing wrap around porch jacuzzi tub douglas beach granola within walking distance huge bathroom beach chairs gracious hosts lovely porch look forward to going back wonderful suggestions charming house
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We chose To spend the first three nights as husband and wife at Sherwood Forest, and I don't regret one moment. We were greeted with a drink and the welcome sign sigh read "Welcome Mr. & Mrs. Pierce. When we got to our room, there was a bottle of champagne on ice with a welcome/wedding card. Every day Noelene greeted us as Mr. & Mrs. Pierce with her lovely South African accent. Jim was very helpful with recommendations for daily activities. We we arrived he provided us with a visitors map that had hand written recommendation, and took the time to review the map and restaurants with us.

We stayed in the log cabin room which was really nice and the jacuzzi was even better. Breakfast was tasty and different every day. The location to the beach is great/ We were able to walk to the beach daily and use Sherwood provided beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Sheena T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was an honor to host Mr. & Mrs. Pierce at Sherwood and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. You are part of the Sherwood family now and we hope to see you back for your first anniversary!

Best regards,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Our visit could not have been more perfect! The room, the food, and the wonderful hospitality of the thoughtful innkeepers made for a memorable stay that we hope to repeat and share with our closest people. Also, the recommendations they gave us for sightseeing & dining were right on. This was truly one of the best getaway experiences we've ever had. Bravo!

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme. You should go to their website to explore and choose.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Frank G,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for Sherwood Forest. It was such a pleasure having both of you with us and we hope you will return "home" soon!! Say hi to your lovely wife for us!

Best regards,
David, Jim & Noelene
Your Sherwood Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

You know it's a great place when...
You wake up and can't wait to see what the Innkeepers (Noelene, Jim, & Dave) have made for breakfast. Every breakfast was a culinary delight, enticing to the tastebuds and aesthetically presented. You may think we are indulging in hyperbole. We are not. Beautiful handmade brioche, or French toast with fruit and a mascarpone creme fraiche, or Crocque Madam, or the best pancakes we've ever tasted. All delightfully served by the truly friendly and fun Innkeepers.
You know it's a great place when...
Your room begins to feel like home. You enter your room and immediately forget that you are in a part of an old Victorian home. We stayed in the "Log Cabin" room. It feels like a cabin (but one with all the amenities you could want--and thankfully, no TV). We never heard any other guests. The room is tastefully presented. Beautiful forests views out the windows. The jacuzzi style double bath made our stay feel like we were at a spa. The refrigerator in the bathroom was helpful for days we wanted to take our own lunch to the beach.
You know it's a great place when...
Everything just feels easy. Douglas beach is half a block away. It was an easy stroll away. The property is quiet and secluded. The porch is spacious enough that even when all the rooms are full, there's always the sense that there's plenty of room. The pool is kept warm and it was inviting and delightful. Nearby bike paths are a delight. Also access to Saugatuck is easy and quick.
Can you tell we really loved it? We loved it so much we almost didn't want to write a review for fear that too many others will want to stay there. But we couldn't be that mean to Noelene, Jim, and Dave.

Room Tip: The suites offer more room and also have the jacuzzi couples baths plus refrigerator. But all the rooms we saw were very nicely appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lesa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Hi Lesa L,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review! Definitely made our day!! It was such a pleasure having both of you with us ... can't wait for your return "home" to see us! Have a great summer you guys and come home soon!
Best,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived at Sherwood and were greeted with the warmest welcome by Noelene! She took a lot of time to tell us about the best restaurants and shops that were nearby. We stayed in the log cabin suite which was beautiful, spacious, had a comfortable bed, nice fireplace, and large jacuzzi tub. The heated pool was also very relaxing. Breakfast was phenomenal every morning! It was great to be able to take a short walk to the beach right on Lake Michigan...the sunsets were spectacular! Noelene and Jim were wonderful hosts, made us feel like family, and we can't wait to make this an annual trip! We highly recommend Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Jamison10325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hi Jamison,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to welcome you both back home to Sherwood!
Best,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Sherwood Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful, quiet, friendly place. The hosts are very gracious and wonderful cooks. The swimming pool came in very handy. Only a block from Douglas Beach. Quiet at night. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hi BobAnnArbor,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of Sherwood Forest. It was such a pleasure meeting both of you and we so look forward to welcoming you back "home" to Sherwood!
Best,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews