We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
163
16
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
16
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin victorian suite lake michigan white room breakfast was amazing wrap around porch jacuzzi tub douglas beach granola within walking distance huge bathroom beach chairs gracious hosts lovely porch look forward to going back wonderful suggestions charming house
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Beautiful B&B with a short walk to the shore of Lake Michigan and magical sunsets. We stayed in the Victorian Room and had a rest filled night. For a room this size, a queen size bed would be a nice upgrade, but the double bed with a pillow topped mattress was quite comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with a nice moist and fluffy frittata, sausage, granola and fresh fruit.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We just spent 5 relaxing days at the Sherwood Forest B&B! The inn was just beautiful and so was the location. Situated in a lovely quiet neighborhood and just 1/2 a block from the beach. Close to restaurants and kayaking. The breakfasts were delicious too. I wish they would sell that granola! The owners are lovely people and so welcoming. We'll be back for sure! Thank you Jim and Noelene! P.S. if you're a light sleeper, you'll sleep well here! We were on the 2nd floor and didn't hear a thing from the other rooms or the street. ::)

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This was a completely last minute reservation, and were glad Jim and Noelene were so accommodating. They greeted us warmly with a glass of wine and map and guide to great restaurants and shops around Douglas and Saugatuck. Our favorite of these was Salt of the Earth restaurant. We stayed in the Log Cabin Suite, and there was plenty of room to unwind and move around. The room included a small fridge and a huge jacuzzi tub! Breakfast every morning was a foodie's dream. So delicious! While staying here, make sure you take the short walk to the beach, and enjoy the beautiful sunsets on the warm sand. We will visit again soon!

Room Tip: If you require a lot of room, stay in the Log Cabin Suite.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here in the log cabin suite. Clean, welcoming, pretty, well-appointed, comfortable, and well-located are attributes of this B&B. What's more worth noting is its excellent location less than a block from the beach (Lake MI)--excellent for sunsets and walks in most seasons. It's close to downtown Douglas and Saugatuck too. We also appreciated the hospitality and grand breakfasts here--the hosts are just right (friendly, hospitable, available but not obtrusive or chatty). And the food is terrific--great coffee, yogurt, granola, fruit, blueberry pancakes, eggs, potatoes, pastries/bread, etc. More food than we could eat but yum... This was a relaxing, enjoyable break from our fast- paced, hectic lives. We hope to return.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

This is a wonderful B&B, the welcome is warm and the atmosphere comfortable and calm. Locate a block from the beach in Douglas, the setting is tranquil and perfect for sunsets.

We had the Rose Room and the Tree Tops Room, both very comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated (especially Tree Tops, very special). Nolene the proprietor/cook is a great hostess, and looked after us very well - she gave us some great advice on dining out in Saugatuck and things to do in the area. Breakfasts are generous and delicious - make sure you try the South African melktert.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JGPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews