We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cuter,cozy but could use a little "elbow grease...”
other travellers have booked this property
Executive Suite Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Executive Suite Living Room
Executive Suite Living Room Executive Suite Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
Executive Suite Living Room
Executive Suite Living Room
Executive Suite Kitchen
Executive Suite Master Bedroom
Executive Suite Master Bedroom
Executive Suite Guest Bedroom
Executive Suite Screened in Porch
Executive Suite Screened in Porch with Jacuzzi
Executive Suite from outside
Executive Suite from outside
Lake Michigan Beach in downtown Charlevoix
Charlevoix Light House in downtown Charlevoix
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
neveragai...
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“jacuzzi did not work 2nd day”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The reason we rented this property was we were looking for somewhere to have an outdoor Jacuzzi for a long weekend. The first night we had to wait for Jacuzzi to warm up because the water had been changed, no big deal we went into town, got back that evening and used the Jacuzzi that worked, next morning water temperature was 60 degrees, we read the sign on the wall that says Jacuzzi on timer so thought maybe it went off during the night. We left for the day but the more we talked about it we decided to call the owner. We contacted the owner at 2pm (we called and have record) and she said she would not be back until 4 or 5pm and would look at it at that time. We texted about 645pm because of the temperature being 80 degreees and she advised she realized the hot tub was not going at all, she had reset the breaker about an hour ago and we were informed to just give it an hour to heat up, it stayed at 80 degrees and never warmed up any higher, we asked if we were going to be compensated at 8:30pm that evening ******* we had used the Jacuzzi once ******* she is now trying to blame us for waiting until 2pm to let her know about the issue. She advised that she is happy she has an text trail on this (so are we) and we left at 9pm that evening we did not stay that last night. We are sure this rating will disappear as other reviews have but want to let anyone know if you see this it is not that nice and the service is terrible ==== the reason for the kitchen/utensils poor rating is 4 out of 6 coffee cups we pulled out of the cupboard had dried coffee in them and small plates were dirty

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Abbeys Affordable Hideaway is a very popular Vacation Rental in Charlevoix that is owned and operated by myself, Abbey and my hubby Griff. We have been in business for 13 years. We have wonderful employees who are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service to our guests. When we receive constructive criticism we give it the utmost respect and consideration. We always strive to deliver a quality experience that will remain a wonderful memory of your "up north" experience.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met and so it was a cause of great concern for hubby and I to hear of inconveniences during your stay at our Executive Suite and for that we do sincerely apologize. I am sorry that the Hot Tub started to act up during your stay with us. I wish that we could schedule the break downs of this wonderful amenity, but, alas this is not possible. Regrettably the repair could not be scheduled until the day after your departure. :-(

Providing a fully stocked kitchen is really appreciated by most of our guest, however, it also comes with its own sets of challenges. As you remember, I do not charge a cleaning fee as I believe that most of our guests are more than happy to clean up after themselves and not get charged to have someone else do it for them. Our housekeeping staff are paid to basically strip the beds and replace all bedding and bathing towels etc. Unfortunately, not all guests are as clean and conscientious as you probably are when it comes to cleaning up after themselves in the kitchen. Therefore, finding a dirty glass or plate does occasionally happen. I now make sure that there is a note posted in the kitchen that reminds our guests to be somewhat diligent in looking at the dinnerware before using it and making sure that it is returned to the cabinets clean and ready to go for the next guest.

It is our sincerest hope that you will give our vacation rental the opportunity for a future stay to show you a much higher quality experience.

Gods blessings to you and your family.

Abbey
<(((><
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph G
Bellevue, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cuter,cozy but could use a little "elbow grease" in the kitchen and bath areas.”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It was a pleasant place to stay with friendly owners. The bath area was not as clean as it should have been with lots of soap scum build up on the shower doors. Kitchen area was generally clean, but the sink had soap residue . Other areas it seemed to be the cleaning person forgot to dust. Pillows were very poor--need new ones. Not the easiest to access with a stone covered wide step area--if you have bad knees or back this could be a problem-this was not mentioned and it is a difficult walk to the apartment. Owners are very kind, friendly and generally wonderful people. The apartment is tastefully decorated. The area surrounding the apartment is beautiful with trees and natural surroundings. All things considered it was a quiet, peaceful and relaxing place to stay. The only problem was check-in-owners were there fortunately as Flip Key doesn't allow an exchange of phone numbers--this should be done on individual basis and is not the fault of the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marysville
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ca.
Reviewed 23 June 2010 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The furnishings, and homey feeling.
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michigan
Reviewed 23 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing