We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$371
View deal
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$336
View deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$371
Hotels.comUS$371
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
1,023
179
70
40
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,023
179
70
40
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rugby grill luxury suite beautiful hotel downtown birmingham turn down service room service michigan lobby wedding valet accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

WOW! This hotel exceeded all of my expectations. The accommodations are first class. Comfy bed and linens, a spacious room and bathroom. The fixtures and finishes were very nice, clean and modern. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Birmingham. It's really a jewel of a hotel, and the staff is very friendly and hospitable.

Date of stay: August 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MooseTang8702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven kalczynski, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MooseTang8702,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Townsend Hotel on your recent visit to "walkable" Birmingham and your kind comments regarding your positive experiences.

We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity of having you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

No complaints, friendly staff, updated, very very clean, bathrooms are fancy, has in room snacks and drinks, convenient parking, I felt very safe here, stayed here three times and will definitely be back

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nickschepis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven kalczynski, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Nickschepis,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Townsend Hotel on your recent visit to "walkable" Birmingham and your kind comments regarding your positive experiences.

We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity of having you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Our thanks to The Townsend Hotel for providing its usual high standards of excellence — even during a pandemic! Our hotel stay was an oasis of sanity and comfort during a visit to attend a family funeral.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DiscerningTravel_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven kalczynski, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Dear DisconcerningTravel_212,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Townsend Hotel on your recent visit to "walkable" Birmingham and your kind comments regarding your safe experience during the pandemic and we send our sympathy for your loss.

We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity of having you return in the future....without a pandemic!

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2021

I would suggest this hotel for a two night stay for couples, prices a little steep but overall nice hotel for baecation, the whole area is beautiful and probably the best the place to raise your family and stay.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank baf74tdbc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven kalczynski, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear baf74tdbc4,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Townsend Hotel on your recent visit to "walkable" Birmingham! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

We appreciate your kind words on your positive experience and we look forward to the opportunity of having you return.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2021

Don’t look any further! If you are hosting any event, you should consider the Townsend. From start to finish they were TOP NOTCH! We chose to stay at the hotel for 2 nights prior to our event, and we are so glad we did. They made everything very easy. We had a suite and an adjoining room — both were absolutely lovely! One of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in the world!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RBookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven kalczynski, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Dear RBookout,,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Townsend Hotel on your recent visit to "walkable" Birmingham and your kind comments regarding your bridal shower experiences.

We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity of having you return for your future events in the future.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
The Townsend Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews