We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A bit of heaven on the Cape”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Sign You Have Arrived
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Sign You Have Arrived
Front of home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Our Sign You Have Arrived
Front of home
The old lookout from the kitchen of the Crows Nest
Weber Gas Grill
Enclosed Yard
Patio
Back Yard
Earle Street Beach Less than 3 minute walk even with kids.
Life Guard from 10 to 4 every day
Just Add water At Earle Street Beach.  You can even get a permit for a evening cookout
Yes The Ice Cream truck comes to the beach every day more than once
View one of nature's wonders up close by visiting  Herring Run, In Brewster Just a short drive away.
Over recent years, the seal population has increased ten-fold off the shores of the Lower Cape.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Harwich, Harwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ms.”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Nice, clean apartment but very dirty, neglected backyard. The all patio and backyard looks as if the house had been abandoned for years. Truly disgusting outdoor space which negatively impacted our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Ruth and I are happy you found our home clean as we try to have one of the cleanest homes for rent on Cape Cod. As we Ourselves vacation in many places around the world and appreciate a clean rental.
We are not sure what you were referring to about the yard. The yard has a trex composite decking which takes up most of the yard. We put that in because the yard in totally in the shade of the trees. And only the large rhododendron grows in the conor. You might have been disappointed as my manager made mention that you check in you wanted to know were the hot tub was. You were told that that haven't been there for about 3 years and that you must have been reading old reviews.
We hope that you found The Crows Nest convient to Earle Road Beach which is 3 tenths of a mile from the home as well as the near by Trampolins Bumper-Boats and Go-Carts for your children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howieb
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit of heaven on the Cape”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We found the two bedroom apartment to be FULLY furnished with everything one could ask for. The caretaker (Ben) and his wife were so very helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant. Thaks for all your concern and help. Would recommend the property to ANYONE.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review of the Crows Nest at Captain Alexander's in West Harwich. We do not get many vacation travelers after October or before May. Our property management team is always accomdating to our guests. Ruth and I have vacationed in Europe, Central and South America, Asia, and Australia. North America. Iceland and Greenland. We have used TripAdvisor on many occasions, so we know what should be in a vacation rental including good cookwear, confortable living room and large beds.
We glad you enjoyed your time at our place.

Ruth and Jerry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradee201...
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in the off season. We were spending Christmas with our daughter and the Crows Nest was perfect. We cooked Christmas dinner in the fully equipped kitchen. The property manager was very helpful. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Ruth and I are glad that you found the Crows Nest at Captain Alexander's a great place. Ben and Stacey have been with us for about 4 years and Ben seems to always make our guest's stay enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmp35
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing stay close to beach”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here very much. Family of 4 with 2 teenage daughters. Perfect for our needs - good amount of space, a nice walk to the beach, in a quiet neighborhood with a short drive to area restaurants and shopping. We really liked the Earle Street beach - not too big and not too crowded. The outdoor shower and patio area were great for washing off sand after a day at the beach. Everything was just as we expected from pictures and description. Bedrooms were comfortable, air conditioning easily controlled to our liking. We also liked having the washer and dryer to use. The owners were a pleasure to correspond with in making our arrangements and offered great suggestions for our stay. The onsite property manager gave us peace of mind and was very accessible to address any questions or needs. The only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Dear Sharon,
Ruth and I are glad you and your family enjoyed Captain Alexander's and your time at Earle Road Beach. We have had many comments about the nice homes in the area. There are many find restaurants within an easy drive of captain Alexanders and although we know that the kitchen in the rental is small most people find the living room and bedrooms have adequate space. One of the many ways that we try hard for you to enjoy your vacation is to be flexible with the check in and check out dates. Thanks for submitting your review and we hope you have a nice fall back at home.
Yours Ruth and Jerry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location close to the beach, lovely back yard”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Captain Alexander's! The owners were great about sending us information beforehand and great recommendation for places to eat and go. We never actually met the property managers at the location but check-in and check-out was super easy. The place is a bit old and run-down but it met all our needs for a few days at the beach. The rental was flexibel about staying for less than a full week, it really is only a short walk to a nice, family-friendly beach and an easy drive towards the National Seashore. We loved the outdoor shower and the seating area in the backyard. The kitchen is small, but it has everything you need. Thanks for the great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor shower
Liked least: condition of bathroom and furniture
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Dear Lisa,
We're glad you had a good time at Captain Alexander's and the beach at Earle Road is really convenient. The home was built in 1956 and has been well maintained with new windows air conditioning and heating. In June we replaced the carpeting in the apartment. Yes I understand the kitchen is small and although it has a new cooktop and wall oven it is dated. One of the ways that we try to make your vacation special to you is the flexibility of having checked in and check out dates around your schedule and not just Saturday to Saturday which has been the norm on Cape Cod ever since I was a little boy when we were vacationing there.
We appreciate your review and we're glad you had a great time on old Cape Cod.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing