We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great walk

A great place for a walk in the woods, stretch your legs, walk the dog or enjoy picnic. Trails are... read more

Reviewed 10 July 2018
stipetic2018
,
Taunton, Massachusetts
Freckles the Dog

This was a fine place to hike. Spiders and webs - that is what we saw plenty of. No other hikers... read more

Reviewed 2 July 2018
Bob19512014
,
Clearwater, Florida
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
15
8
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
8
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river log cabin beautiful place picnic tables covered bridge walking trails graffiti dog hike woods spray memorial park
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

The entrance of the refuge looks nice as it has picnic tables that are in good condition and the fragrance garden trail is a nice and easy 0.6 mile hike. Next I completed the trail leading to the Three Mile River Dam. There are no signs for this trail at all. One starts this trail at the first green gate after the entrance gate to the place. This trail starts on pavement then transitions into dirt, rocks and tree stumps. Since this trail has no markers on it at all, use the river as a guide to get to you to the dam.This trail is about 2.5 mile round trip from the entrance to the dam and back. Some of the views of the river were pretty and I saw several swans. Unfortunately, the little log cabin on this trail was covered with graffiti. On my way to the dam, I found a heavily rusted full size car covered in graffiti. The walls right next to the damn were covered with graffiti as well. Overall, the refuge has the potential to be a great place to enjoy nature but due to a lack of signs on certain trails, the heavily rusted full size car on a trail and the excessive graffiti, I can’t give this Refuge more than two stars until these issues are fixed.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

A great place for a walk in the woods, stretch your legs, walk the dog or enjoy picnic. Trails are easy to walk.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank stipetic2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

This was a fine place to hike. Spiders and webs - that is what we saw plenty of. No other hikers. It was a very hot day so we particularly liked all the shade. The memorial to Freckles left us with tears in our eyes.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bob19512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Very nice walking trails along the river. The park is large, clean and a beautiful place to take a walk or jog. The trails are well maintained and the river scenery is beautiful. Saw a number of people out walking their dogs along the trails so excellent for the animal lover. Great for families with teens or young children.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped in the office to ask about the trails and a map. The folks there were very nice and gave us a map... that they said was old and out dated... but, that the trails were well manicured and easy to follow. Off we went. It was a nice stroll... we had a 3 and 4 year old with us. There were some downed trees across the trail... but, easily managed for us. The trail along the water had collapsed into the water at one point... so we had to go back up a bit... we climbed the stairs to the log cabin which was really cool... but, also disappointing as vandals had sprayed graffiti all over it. So sad! We continued our trail loop which brought us right back to the office, there was another trail with a covered bridge... but, the office people said that it had been damaged and that they ere hoping to get it fixed up soon. We didn't bother doing that trail. This refuge has infinite possibilities... if only people could respect and enjoy the history here! We will go back next year... and hope for great things!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Travelingover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews