We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great walk

A great place for a walk in the woods, stretch your legs, walk the dog or enjoy picnic. Trails are... read more

Reviewed 10 July 2018
stipetic2018
,
Taunton, Massachusetts
Freckles the Dog

This was a fine place to hike. Spiders and webs - that is what we saw plenty of. No other hikers... read more

Reviewed 2 July 2018
Bob19512014
,
Clearwater, Florida
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
15
8
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
8
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river log cabin beautiful place picnic tables covered bridge walking trails graffiti dog hike woods spray memorial park
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

A great place for a walk in the woods, stretch your legs, walk the dog or enjoy picnic. Trails are easy to walk.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank stipetic2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

This was a fine place to hike. Spiders and webs - that is what we saw plenty of. No other hikers. It was a very hot day so we particularly liked all the shade. The memorial to Freckles left us with tears in our eyes.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bob19512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Very nice walking trails along the river. The park is large, clean and a beautiful place to take a walk or jog. The trails are well maintained and the river scenery is beautiful. Saw a number of people out walking their dogs along the trails so excellent for the animal lover. Great for families with teens or young children.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped in the office to ask about the trails and a map. The folks there were very nice and gave us a map... that they said was old and out dated... but, that the trails were well manicured and easy to follow. Off we went. It was a nice stroll... we had a 3 and 4 year old with us. There were some downed trees across the trail... but, easily managed for us. The trail along the water had collapsed into the water at one point... so we had to go back up a bit... we climbed the stairs to the log cabin which was really cool... but, also disappointing as vandals had sprayed graffiti all over it. So sad! We continued our trail loop which brought us right back to the office, there was another trail with a covered bridge... but, the office people said that it had been damaged and that they ere hoping to get it fixed up soon. We didn't bother doing that trail. This refuge has infinite possibilities... if only people could respect and enjoy the history here! We will go back next year... and hope for great things!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Travelingover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I'm sure that at one time, the Boyden Wildlife Refuge was a place with more purpose than it has today. I've been here a handful of times in the past two years, and while it's a godsend for people who want to walk their dogs (because Taunton doesn't have a dog park), it's also a place that's fallen victim to lack of upkeep and proper oversight. Kudos to the volunteers and friends of the sanctuary, who apparently do all they can with what they've got.

The sanctuary itself consists of a small picnic area and a few walking trails, one of which is now off-limits due to erosion. The main path leads into the woods and is a fairly easy walk over pine needles, with some sandy spots and few hills/curves. The views along the trail are pretty good - there are nesting swans and the picturesque Three Mile River, but that's about it. It's worth the journey to get to the end of the trail and check out the dam near Spring Street in North Dighton, but you'll then have to walk all the way back down the same trail to return to the parking lot - this trail does not loop.

While there isn't much wildlife to be seen on the property, there are some other oddities - two rusted shells of what appear to be 1970s-era vehicles, a dilapidated power substation and the concrete foundation of what used to be some other type of building. There's also a one-room log cabin built as a memorial, but there's nothing in it (the last time I visited, someone had left a bag of dog poop in the cabin... not nice).

Save for the dog poop (thankfully, MOST people clean up after their dogs here), the entire area is trash-free, so the grounds do feel somewhat peaceful. The entire property, however, needs a facelift. Even some signs detailing what used to be on these grounds would be of interest to those who come to visit today, but we're only left to guess how those cars got so far into the woods all those years ago. Were they stolen and torched? Perhaps they were Mrs. Boyden's personal vehicles? We'll never know.

Don't let this review sway you one way or another; the Boyden Wildlife Refuge really must be seen to be appreciated. Visit during late morning & and early afternoon hours, or on weekends, when the crowd seems less sketchy. Bring your dog on a leash, and please use the complimentary poop bags.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews