We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
113
49
12
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
49
12
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic basket breakfast basket ocean front hot tub private patio lounge chairs apple tv gas fireplace blue bikes the penthouse coat of paint beach cottage every morning yogurt beach towels drive into town square foot
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

My husband and I were in town last weekend visiting our family and we were able to have a brief overnight at Blue! It was out of this world! We stayed in an Ocean Side Queen. The room was lovely and immaculate. The jet tub was great and the bed was so comfortable with high end bedding. It reminded me of a beautiful Inn we stayed in on Nantucket. Right on the Ocean you step outside your slider to sea side heaven! We drank our coffee in Adirondack chairs and watched the sun come up. A breakfast basket with coffee, granola, eggs, fruit etc was delivered to our door. Meg was very helpful in planing our visit and John at the desk was friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend a visit in the off season. Most rooms have fireplaces so it makes for a cozy relaxing fall getaway. Thank you Blue! We will be back. CM

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is so pretty and the cottage we stayed it was remolded. The only reason I didn’t rate it higher bc we were a little disappointed that the cottage wasn’t on the beach. We were unaware that there were cottages that weren’t on the water. The whole reason we booked at this hotel was bc they had pet friendly cottages and it looked like all the rooms were on the water. So we were a little bummed. We got there late and the keys were left at the desk with our names on them. Also dogs are not allowed on the beach until after oct so I guess if you are traveling with your pet in the summer and are thinking you want to do a beach day they can’t come! But it is a really nice hotel. The hotel doesn’t make the rules for the beach, I get that but I do think that maybe they should suggest the guest do some research bf they arrive when traveling with a dog.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jdeprofio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

We do love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our great cottages but we certainly appreciate your feedback and can understand your disappointment regarding the lack of a water view. While many rooms are located right on the beach, there are some cottages that are back from the water but we are always happy to work with guests to find the most suitable room on-property if possible during their visit. Unfortunately, we are not responsible for the rules applied to dogs and the beach area but it's certainly a great suggestion for future guests to look at the time of year they're hoping to stay with us with a pet. We'd love to welcome you back for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We had a great 2 day visit at Blue on the Beach. 2nd floor suite on left hand side, lots of glass, giving great views of ocean and beach. Door and windows open for sea air, and the sound of waves curling over onto the beach lull you to sleep. Very efficient and caring staff. Nice breakfast baskets dropped off at your door about 8am, with a nice array of breakfast items; a cut above many places that offer such breakfasts in lieue of a communal breakfast area. Very nice choc-chip cookies at front desk with bottled water. Parking is just down the street, an easy, short walk. A lot of nice, nearby restaurants in area. Room was not large, but did not feel small. Bathroom had enough space to move around in. Hand-held and rain-shower head in a oval tub surrounded by (marble?). Gas fireplace, and A/C if you need it. Well-managed hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PaultheMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

The way you describe having the doors open and falling asleep to the smell of sea air and the sound of waves curling onto the beach is just dreamy! We are so glad that you enjoyed your 2-day visit with us and found everything from the caring and efficient staff to the breakfast baskets to be up to your expectations and it sounds like you also enjoyed our cute town of Newburyport. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Located right on the beach front Blue is the best spot on Plum Island. We were fortunate enough to score the Lark suite which must be the penthouse because holy moly we’ve got 360 degree view of the island. So many windows. Walkout balcony with ocean view and walkout balcony with sunset view! Half bath upstairs and full spa bath downstairs. King size bed, kitchenette, TV but who needs that. This place rocks. Staff is gracious. We took out the bikes and road over to the wildlife preserve. Only 4 miles back into Newburyport for incredible restaurants and beautiful views.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Quaint accommodation right on the beach but beware that there is a huge slope down from
the room to the beach area. It was a challenge with a 1.5 year old
So we had to walk around the other side of the hotel to get to the water.

Would be great in the summer. It was quiet when we went in April.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank THEJESSKEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

We can completely understand how navigating with a young one would be a challenge but we are certainly glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us! It sounds like you stayed with us following a set of severe Nor’easters that hit the property in March, causing some structural damage to the property, as well as some changes to the landscape (mainly the beach). We have since done our best to wooden walkway and slope down to the beach. We would be thrilled to see you again for another getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews