We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place. Loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Great Barrington, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John m
1 review
“Great place. Loved it!”
Reviewed 17 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house was cozy. The lake was beautiful. The surrounding towns offer great restaurants. The host was very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana5555
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise on the lake!”
Reviewed 17 November 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We rented this lovely home on the lake (or maybe it's a pond... Long Pond I think) last year and loved every minute of our visit. The house is well equipped and has all one could want in a lakeside retreat. The owners were gracious and friendly as well. I highly recommend this piece of paradise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bts1040
Kings Park, New York
1 review
“Peaceful waterfront house , located minutes from town.”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Ray was very quick to respond to all our rental questions. We had a wonderful weekend at this home. It was very clean and welcoming to our party of 6 . The kitchen was fully stocked with any cooking/serving pieces you could need. The back deck overlooking the water was a great place for coffee in the am. As well as cocktail in the evening. The bedrooms were all very comfortable. We enjoyed all the attractions near by. Great location. Hope to come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnne G
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

House is misrepresented as a single family. Once you send the deposit and you receive the agreement it states there is an apartment that the owners may or may not be staying in at the same time.
The lake that is called "pristine" is full of algae and you can't see anything else but the algae. No one in my party of 10 would go in ....talk about disappointing.
The house is also listed as a 4 bedroom when in fact it is 3 with a loft. 2 of the bedrooms on the lower level were extremely musty even with a dehumidifier constantly running.
Everything in the house is out dated and dingy.
The walk down to the water was treacherous (stairs in need of serious repair)
House was not clean...crumbs in drawers, floor was filthy, tub was dingy &dirty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The pond/lake(one of the main reasons I rented it)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
If you think this review is a little fishy, that?s because it is. This is a revenge/extortion review because the woman demanded money back and when we declined, she said she was going to post a negative review. Her language is over the top using the worst adjectives imaginable just to punish us.
First of all, we never heard anything from her while she was actually at the house. It was only after she left that we heard her issue(s). One would think if there were issues, she would have called and told us while she was there. We, of course, would have done our very best to resolve any real issues right on the spot. We have cleaners and service people on call and we would have had them there immediately. If necessary, we would have personally driven the 3 hours to the house to make things right. We didn?t hear about anything until after. And, obviously, they were bogus issues.
The woman e-mailed us after her stay, saying that she didn?t like a couple of things, mostly the lake, and demanded that we return a good deal of her rent. We answered that we very much disagree with her and we would not return her money. We told her that actually we had issues with the way she left the house and that while we wouldn?t take any of her security deposit for our issues; we wouldn?t return any of her rent either. We did return her entire security deposit with no deductions.
The issues:
1.The lake.
She made the absurd claim that the lake was not suitable for swimming and that her party wouldn?t use it. The fact is that our renters have been swimming in the lake for all of the 20 years that we have rented the house. I swim in the lake, my children swim in the lake. My brother-in-law/sister-in-law who live next door and their 8 grandchildren swim in the lake. Our renters love it and have made many compliments on the wonderful lake.
Here are two comments from the renter before this woman: 1. ?We are here and in love with the location, both where we are in the Berkshires and where the house is in relation to the water. Fantastic! ? 2. ?We had a lovely time and our children really loved being on the water, swimming, making a fire and simply being together.?
Here is a comment from the renter after this woman ?My husband and I arrived yesterday and have settled in awaiting the arrival of the rest of the family. The view is stunning and the lake provided a delicious swim today. ?

2. The walk to the lake
The ?stairs? down to the lake are not wooden stairs like this woman would like to have you believe. It is actually a path with natural steps cut into the hill bordered by heavy railroad ties with a rail all the way down to the huge dock that has a rowboat, outdoor furniture, etc. The path is wide and everything is quite sturdy. You walk on the ground covered with gravel, not on wooden stairs.

3. Cleaning
We have the house professionally cleaned before and after each renter. The fact is that these people did not leave the house clean and we had to mention that to the woman. This angered her and she said she was going to say the house was not clean in her review.

4. Dingy house.
The house is Adirondack style and decorated like a cabin just like advertised. The furnishings are wooden with some antiques. It is all knotty pine and wood paneling. It is not a contemporary house with Lucite and plastic and fake granite, etc. The kitchen and baths have been updated and it is not at all as described by the reviewer.

5. Single family
This house is our family house. In addition to the larger part that we rent out occasionally, we keep an owner?s suite or apartment attached to the main house. We explain this to the renters and tell them in the lease and in the instructions that ?This apartment is not part of your rental. We don?t live there. It is never rented to others, and we, nor anyone else, would ever be there during you rental unless absolutely necessary and then never without notifying you and seeking your approval?
We have never stayed overnight in the apartment when renters are there, and certainly not when this reviewer was there. She is just stretching to come up with stuff to add to the review. This is completely irrelevant.

6. Bedrooms
The rental has 4 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. One of the bedrooms is a huge loft that overlooks the great room. It has a regular set of stairs up to it, not a ladder or anything like that. It is large and has two full beds in it. It is the best room in the house in that it has floor to ceiling windows with great views of the lake on one side and the woods on the other side. It is my wife?s and my favorite room. We have pictures of it and the stairs up to it on the site and we certainly don?t try to trick anyone about it. Most people have really liked it.
The two lower bedrooms have new carpet, are nicely furnished, and are painted light colors. We do provide a dehumidifier to keep things nice and dry. Nobody else has complained about this, including my daughter-in-law when my 3 year old granddaughter stays down there.

This woman who posted the review is absolutely wrong and was just after some money. If you really believe what she has to say, then perhaps you shouldn?t stay at our house. On the other hand, if you believe that she is just after revenge, we?d love to have you. We?d also be very happy to have you (or TripAdvisor or anyone else) visit, inspect, and see for yourself what a great house and beautiful location we really have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing