We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
350
114
37
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
114
37
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bass fire pit cookies pool table stacy house quiche dvd library starbucks coffee wedding cake the main house billiard room paper plates second floor hot tub continental breakfast bagels view is amazing
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We've been staying at the inn for many years now. Rooms are old but spotlessly clean, staff is friendly, landscaping is beautiful. The breakfast is pretty good, better then your average continental. The pool is beautiful and warm but sadly they redesigned it a few years ago and it no longer has the backyard charm or the view of the ocean, also there is no shade in the pool area. A lot of kids stay there so it's often crowded. They also lowered the eating table so you can't see the water if you're eating at them. All the rooms have amazing views but there is a road between the inn and the ocean. They have lots of nice touches, DVDs available, chocolate chip cookies, lemonade, and tea and coffee all day. The fire pit is nice at night but is crowded. We love staying here and hope they stop trying to modernize before it looses its homey charm!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MzRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Clean rooms, great view, friendly staff, new outdoor pool with great fire pit. Breakfast included with Starbucks served 24x7. Air is fresh and scenery is beautiful. All units face the ocean. Easy ride to Gloucester amazing seafood restaurants. Bike included for scenic bike rides.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Lovely Inn on the coast. The staff were friendly the rooms was comfortable and the views were amazing. They have bikes to lend for a short ride into downtown Gloucester. Room included a above average breakfast. Definitely will recommend to family and friends Only downside was they provided Starbucks coffee and not a local roaster.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

The inn is 2 buildings of suites/rooms and a home (historic Wedding cake house) which houses the lobby, dining area and billiards/computer area. All buildings are very well maintained and the grounds are well landscaped and just gorgeous. The view is amazing despite the road between the Inn and the ocean. Don't let that deter you. The continental breakfast was delicious. Instead of eggs (which I had seen in previous reviews and pictures), they served quiche and an assortment of breads, muffins and fruit. There was also coffee, juice, water and milk. Cookies are served in the evening. Everything was delicious! We had a room facing the ocean directly. The balcony is one continuous porch so you're very close with your neighbor. The building that is perpendicular to the ocean and advertised as "ocean view" instead of oceanfront has a beautiful view and didn't appear to have any worse view than we had. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in any of the rooms! Be advised that the bathroom was very small; we stayed in the king oceanfront room. Also the computer is in the billiards room so don't plan to be able to do a lot of business there. Wifi was strong and reliable. Everyone was very nice and so accommodating. This place was amazing and better than what you could imagine!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kweaver78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

What a pleasant surprise at the Bass Rocks Inn - I did not know the area very well prior to booking this hotel, and we were so thrilled when we arrived. The picture on trip advisor makes it look quite a bit bigger than it really is, but no matter. The spot could not be nicer. The pool overlooks the ocean, as do all the rooms. All the staff were so friendly. The bathrooms are small, but clean. The rooms all have places to sit outside, whether you are on the ground floor or second floor. Very close to Good Harbor beach. We will definitely go back again next year, for more days! Thanks for making our family reunion so nice.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KB1Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews