We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
207
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews emma suite nauset marsh national seashore separate cottage cape cod the main house ocean view last summer peaceful setting hiking trails small kitchen off route every morning b bs coast guard beach three nights first floor
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We traveled to Boston and the Cape mid June of this year. We stayed at a wonderful Bed and Breakfast that served delicious homemade food, much of it grown in their garden, provided comfortable accommodations. The owners were extremely knowledgeable about the area and friendly hosts. Our room was clean and well appointed, the area was picturesque and we hope to return next year. The location Eastham, was centrally located on the Cape which allowed us to travel up and down the Cape and return the same day to Fort Hill. The view from the home has a spectacular unobstructed view of the Atlantic ocean, which is approximately half a mile away. There are nearby trails and so much to see and do.

Room tip: There are three separate accommodations on the the premise we stayed in the upstairs room and it suited us well.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lebowitz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear lebowitz17,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Lucille suite here at Fort Hill B+B with other travelers.

We love it when our guests are a perfect fit for our very special, historic B+B inside the National Seashore! It didn't hurt that you stayed in June, when the weather was perfect and the gardens were in bloom! We enjoyed hosting you and we look forward to giving you even more "insider tips" on the many scenic places nearby the next time you visit.

Warmly, Jean and Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We have been coming to Fort Hill for many years now & have loved it every time -- the setting just epitomizes the quiet, natural beauty of Cape Cod. Both suites in the house are delightful and The Cottage, where we have stayed for the past few years, has all the amenities one could want, a true reflection of the care taken by hosts Jean & Gordon Avery, who are, by the way, wonderful people!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Thank you, LynneCat, for choosing Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast for your annual Cape Cod
getaway. And most especially, thank you for for being such great guests! We look forward to hosting you again.
Warmly, Jean and Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Fort Hill B&B is exquisite. It is a beautifully maintained property adjacent to the National Seashore. If you want to experience the natural beauty of Cape Cod, this is the place to go. Fort Hill B&B is a haven masterfully created by hosts Jean and Gordon Avery.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MBAbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear MBAbq,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your kind words and hope you can visit again sometime. It was our pleasure to host the reunion between you and your sister and we are very pleased that you found the peace and serenity you were looking for.

Our unique location inside the Cape Cod National Seashore is protected as a National Historic Landscape so you are guaranteed that its natural beauty will be here for you to experience on your next visit to Fort Hill!

Warmly, Jean and Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary here last year and enjoyed it so much we had to come back for our 21st!

The Lucille suite was again perfect for the two of us for a 3 night stay. This time we knew about the close proximity of the beautiful walk out towards the marsh, directly from the front door of the B&B. It starts just east of the Penniman House (which is freshly renovated since last year and looking spectacular, by the way) and goes through a small wood before connecting up with the main path that leads from the parking lot on top of the hill. If you are a birder this wood is the place to be soon after sunrise, it was full of warblers, orioles, woodpeckers and waxwings. Literally two minutes walk from the house.

The breakfasts were just as interesting and tasty as last time, see my photo of french toast made from pannetone bread with a fresh, homemade berry jam. Also in the picture is a great example of the lengths Jean and Gordon go to make your visit pleasant, relaxing and memorable, a little cluster of lavender from Jean's flower garden, on my wife's side plate, partially hidden behind my pot of tea.

The location is perfect for an ideal break from the stresses of life, the rooms are immaculate, the food is good; you can't go wrong staying here.

Room tip: Lucille suite is excellent, but the stairs up to it are unusually steep.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Justin-T64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Justin,
It's always a pleasure to see your smiling faces ...and an honor to be able to host your yearly anniversary celebration in style! We get a big kick out of surprising our guests with delightful breakfasts and your appreciation is our reward!
We hope you are able to visit with us again next year. Thank you for taking time to write another review. We appreciate it.

Warmly, Jean and Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Jean and Gordon Avery are the most interesting and interested hosts we've met, and their house is the most thoughtfully appointed. A large, rolling yard with gardens and a view of Nauset Marsh and the Atlantic Ocean--and the very nicest breakfasts!--take Fort Hill B&B to a 5 out of 5. (If you enjoy strolling the path to the heights above the marsh, you might want to give it a 6.)

Room tip: Even the smallest room is cozy and comfortable and architecturally fine.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alarmednut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowbird, Owner at Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Wow! We are thrilled and honored that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at scenic Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast. It is guests like you who have kept us enthusiastically hosting visitors to Cape Cod for the last 27 years...and looking forward to making it 28!

We take pride in providing all of our guests with comfortable accommodations, plenty of privacy, healthy, nourishing breakfasts, warm hospitality and a sense of this special place in the National Seashore on Fort Hill.

Thank you for recognizing our efforts and for writing this review! Please think of us the next time you plan a visit to Cape Cod....we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews