We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sublime Mountain Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Oakland, Garrett County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smo9567
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Looking for a weekend getaway with my friends, we stumbled upon this quaint mountain escape. We were all looking forward to weekend where we did not have to leave the house for entertainment. After searching several websites, we found this house and provided it all! With the split floors, everyone had their privacy, but could come together in the tremendous common areas. The pool table provided great side entertainment as we cheered on the Pittsburgh Steelers in the downstairs lounge area. The kitchen was fully stocked, all we needed to bring was our food. We loved not having to worry about needing other supplies which made packing and planning this trip effortless. Even more relaxing was sitting in the hot tub watching snow cover the lush pine trees in the back. The owner was extremely easy and accommodating to book the weekend and had great communication. For example, the house does have several steep hills that would require appropriate cars, especially in the snow. It snowed over our stay, and unfortunately, our car's AWD malfunctioned and we were stuck at the bottom of the cal-de-sac. After AAA refused to help us, we contacted the owner in hope of someone who knew how to help us return to Pittsburgh. The owner promptly answered our call and suggested a local towing company they personally use. That company quickly came to our aid- and they did all on New Year's Day! All around a lovely house, neighborly hosts, and I would recommend this place for any retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
We so enjoy making you happy! It was absolutely our pleasure. Thanks for being awesome guests. We welcome you to The Lazy Bear Family and look forward to having you back!
Alayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allieatti...
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Couldn't be better!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Fabulous accommodation. Has everything - outdoor fireplace, big porches, granite kitchen counters, water filter, sleeps around 12 or so, pool table, heated downstairs floor, stuff for kids. Beautiful carved bear head coffee table in the living room.
Owners are accommodating. Highly recommended. Will returned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
The Lazy Bear team works hard to make your stay enjoyable and to maintain our 64+ five star reviews we have accumulated on our other vacation rental site. We are new to Trip Advisor but not to the hospitality business. We understand how important your vacation time is and strive to make it the best experience possible. Thanx for the feedback, we look forward to having you back! Alayne~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdy2010
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Cozy!”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My family and I very much enjoyed being lazy at the lazy bear lodge. We loved how secluded it was. Loved the fire place and the hot tub and the beautiful view of snow covered pine trees. I highly recommend you visit lazy bear lodge. It's just wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
The Lazy Bear team works hard to make your stay enjoyable and to maintain our 64+ five star reviews we have accumulated on our other vacation rental site. We are new to Trip Advisor but not to the hospitality business. We understand how important your vacation time is and strive to make it the best experience possible. Thanx for the feedback, we look forward to having you back! Alayne~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmm4064
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“AMAZING LODGE”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in July 2017

So many things to say about this property and the owner. She was easy to work with from our initial contact. I have to say that the pictures don't do it justice. We were immediately blown away with the comfort and beauty of this home the minute we walked through the door. The smell of a past wood fire burning in the fireplace to the beautiful colors chosen for the walls and in the art work made us feel worlds away from our crazy city life. We were so comfortable in this home that we never left. We had planned on spending time hiking and eating out but chose to stay in and cook in the beautiful open kitchen/dining and living room. Much bonding time had here. The trails out back in the woods, pool table, air hockey and corn toss game were enough to keep the kids happy. Out of our week long trip, it rained on 2 days but we were still able to sit by the fire outside because of the huge cover over it. What more can you ask for but a good bottle of wine and a fire (real wood at that!) We have stayed at other properties that have gas fireplaces and there is no comparison to the look, sound and smell of a real wood fire. This property has 3!
The hot tub was nice and large to fit our group and we loved the stereo system we could hook to wirelessly by our smart phones to play our own music while on the deck and in the great room.
We highly recommend this property and look forward to returning for a ski trip this winter.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing