We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
45
30
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
30
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coal mine historic hotel the gap old jail chain hotel the great allegheny passage bike trail adjacent restaurant quaint town oak staircase room was comfortable and clean restaurants and bars bike storage hot water hotel lobby the western maryland scenic railroad shuttle service furnishings
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

A unique and fun experience. I was in town for business and wanted to try something different, and this is it. A virtual history museum, and with classic rooms with classic furnishings. And the bar downstairs is something right out of The Great Gatsby. Check out the grand staircase, and the old jail in the basement that dates back to Civil War days.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JTuleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This a beautifully remodeled hotel lobby and adjacent restaurant/bar. The latter didn't even stay open a year after opening. I'm not sure how long the hotel is viable. The restaurant was advertised as being "upscale", and the prices proved that true. That was also the reason it closed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Frostburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Manager at Gunter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Actually that is not the reason it closed. The restaurant received mostly positive reviews and turned a profit. It is missed by many regulars in the community. Hopefully, it will reopen soon under new ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We (middle aged couple with young adult daughter) were looking for a place to stay that provided a nice clean comfortable stay and stirred our interest and this truly did! After reading the descriptions before booking, we were quite curious about the town and hotel. The staff were quite hospitable, warm, engaging, and offered interesting tidbits about the hotel and town. We enjoyed all the touches that showed that much thought and care has been invested into this unique hotel. Left wishing we had more time to take in all there was to stop and take a moment to see (from the lowest level to the main lobby with its community journal and the hallways with unique furniture and prints). This certainly was nice switch from our usual contemporary hotel accommodations to a well cared and preserved hotel that celebrates treasures of yesteryear! We felt so at home and had everything we needed and more within our rooms. Hope to definitely return in the future. We will not forget this place!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LisaF42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Love this charming hotel. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was perfect! Love the elaborate staircase! You can close your eyes and imagine people milling around in its glory days. The restaurant was wonderful! The food was amazing! We hope to go back again to spend some time at the hotel and in the quaint town. The little museum was nice- enjoyed the coal exhibit.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vacaygurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This is great place to learn about Frostburg's history, enjoy the included breakfast at the diner across the street and have a lovely evening meal at the adjacent Gin Mill. The staff was so nice, even after our gang kept the restaurant open past their normal hours. We believe in staying right in the heart of downtown and love supporting independents--so this was perfect. Take the time to explore the exhibits and displays scattered throughout the hotel. Clean, good bed and nice coffee in room! What could be better!

Room tip: our room was a little small so perhaps one could ask for a little larger one
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANCI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews