We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$127
View deal
Hotels.comUS$127
Orbitz.comUS$127
TravelocityUS$127
TripadvisorUS$127
CheapTickets
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
720
235
65
49
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
720
235
65
49
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer full kitchen game room living room indoor pool third floor get away southern maine great place to stay we've stayed location is great wells beach short drive condo units marsh beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2021

We were told that housekeeping would not be allowed to enter our room during our stay and that this was a state of Maine mandate. This is in fact not the case. After we returned, I contacted the Maine Department of Economic and Community Development and learned that it is a CDC recommendation (and not a Maine requirement) that housekeeping refrain from entering a guest room to clean during the guest's stay, but it is not required and it is not mandated by the state of Maine. In fact, it is up to the individual hotel to decide on their housekeeping policy and I learned while I was in Maine that other hotels (e.g., Studio East and Terrace by the Sea) in the area were allowing housekeeping to enter hotel rooms during the guest's visit (although not while the guest was in their hotel room). I would have appreciated an honest and accurate explanation of the policy as well as advance notice of the VBTS position prior to my stay so that I could plan accordingly. Neither of these things occurred.

On a related note, we requested a broom so that we could clean the unit ourselves (as there was none in our unit), and it took 5 attempts on different days and with different staff members before we finally were able to secure one.

In addition, when we checked in, I noticed dust bunnies and debris under pieces of furniture (eg, a Milky Way wrapper and a lighter). This only compounded my frustration with the housekeeping policy as there was a higher expectation that the unit would be pristine given that we would not have the benefit of housekeeping during our stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Robie, General Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Hello Debra, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. Our apologies if a member of our team provided you with incorrect information. Like many other properties, we have opted to follow the CDC recommendation and not offer stay over service this season. We will revisit this policy as we look forward into 2023 and inform guests in the same way they were informed this service would not be provided this season, over the phone, in our welcome letter and on the confirmation guests receive after making or changing a reservation.

Here at Village by the Sea our number one goal is guest satisfaction and offering legendary customer service. If we fell short of this I would like to apologize. This past year has certainly thrown us all a curve ball and as we start to see a glimmer of normalcy, our commitment remains focused on both staff and guest safety. As you know, I attempted to reach you by phone on Friday; however, since then we have had the opportunity to exchange emails and I am so glad that we were able to resolve this situation. Have a wonderful summer season. Jill R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021

We were very happy with the Cleanliness, layout and location of the Village by the Sea. We booked late and only a 1st floor room was available thus not a great view of the water. In the past we have stayed on the upper floors and the view is great but we didn't book early enough to get one of those rooms. We love the location and will
be back. Thank You !

Room tip: Upper levels have better view of sunrise and water
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJWELLS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Robie, General Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. Be sure to come back to see us soon. Wonderful fall specials are now available. Jill R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021

We love this property. This was the second time we have stayed there and it was even better than the first time.

The reservation was very easy to make and the woman helping me with my reservation was extremely helpful and accommodating.

The rooms are spacious and have great amenities.

The indoor pool was a life-saver for us during our last trip, as rainy weather forced us to postpone some of our early morning plans.

As with any hotel, if you are on the bottom or ground floor and have people staying above you, you might hear other guests walking around if you're in your room at the same time they are, if they are heaving/loud walkers, but it's never been a problem for us.

I love that the double rooms have a full sized washer and dryer in them.

The location is perfect for us because you aren't right in the center of Ogunquit, so you can drive without getting stuck in traffic all the time. From the resort, it's about 10-15 minutes to Ogunquit Beach or Perkins Cove, without traffic. Close to many restaurants and other attractions as well (mini golf, ice cream, shopping, etc).

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daniellebV3653RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Robie, General Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Hi Danielle, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed both of your stays with us. This is truly a wonderful property and it is always nice to hear when guests feel the same. Come back to see us again soon. Autumn specials are now available. Have a wonderful weekend! Jill R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021

As soon as we opened the door t o check out our room we saw the smoke detector hanging by its wires. Upon further inspection there are 2 blue cloth chairs with stains on the arm rests and where your head rests, a big stain on the carpet in the master bedroom and no a/c in the master bedroom. Water did come in through a window but the weather was rainy and windy from what was leftover from a tropical storm.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

These units aren't very close to the beach. but they are conveniently located near all the other amenities that Wells offers. The unit was clean and spacious, but we did notice on several occasions that the soundproofing within the rooms could have been much better.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hilltopper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Robie, General Manager at Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Although I too wish we were located directly on the beach, we are just 1.5 miles from both Wells Beach and Drakes Island. If you haven't used the trolley during prior visits, make sure to try it out during your next stay. The trolley operates between late June and late August and leaves from the end of our driveway 3x per hour. The trolley can take you to many different area beaches from Oguquit to Kennebunkport. Enjoy your summer and be sure to come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews