We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was excellent...once again”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shubert Bungalow

Relax on the front porch in the rocking chairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on the front porch in the rocking chairs
Front of House Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Relax on the front porch in the rocking chairs
Front of House
Living Room
Kitchen with Stainless Appliances
Dining Room - total 6 chairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bathrooms
Master Bathroom
Second Bedroom
House Bathroom
House bathroom
Seal Harbor Beach
Little Long Pond - Seal Harbor
Backside of Little Long Pond from carraige road
Jordan Stream - Little Long pond-Seal Harbor
Jordan Pond
Top of the bubbles - 5 min from the house
Jordan Pond and the bubbles - 5 min from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Seal Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mara D
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It was excellent...once again”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It was our second time renting this unit, and we were again more than happy. Fully equipped and well furnished. Product to use the dishwasher and clothewasher. Back deck allow to relax or even eat outside. BBQ easy to use. House packed with games and movies. Secret entry to carriage road less than a mile, or ride on the street to the Jordan Pound House (maybe 2 miles). Seal Harbor beach is fun and not crowded. This unit is great, because Northeast Harbor is just a few minute on one side, and you can easily reach Bar Harbor by route 3 on the other side. You can also get to Otter Cliff without having to get on the Park Loop.
Renter is easy to reach by email before and during the stay.
Secret tip: there are bluberries at the end of the Jordan Pond street, after the cemetary.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANET H
1 review
“Quiet Haven”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Spacious and peaceful. Very convenient to the Carriage roads and Park Loop. Cottage has everything you could possibly want stocked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M
2 reviews
“Okay. Fine for our 4, IMHO a squeeze for 6.”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Not what I picture as a "cabin" or holiday "bunglow." It was not picturesque, not in the woods. Very close houses in a worn neighborhood.

You must drive to anything worthwhile.

Kitchen nice with ample counters and gas range. House quite clean. However master bedroom reeked of dog. They offered a spray over the smell, but fake perfume over stink is not an improvement to me. Allergic or scent sensitive folks beware, even with windows open, doggy smells. (There were also some dog hairs on the kitchen towels.)

The outdoor grill was too corroded to deal with. Guests are not allowed to use the woodburning stove. Bathrooms are okay, no bath tub in master. There is a laundry in the rough basement. DVD player did not work, but they had NETFLIX.

Ordinary walking distance gets you a rundown playground and the route 3 intersection. The block itself is not pretty for walking or running--again, my opinion. Depends what you're coming from.

Park trails and ponds require a drive, unless you are marathon fit. They are certainly worth experiencing.

Walk around Jordan Pond is miles but beautiful. Little Pond is stunning. You wouldn't walk to either from the house.

Bar Harbor is also a drive, and you can walk around an island from its pier. Also good for shopping, dining, and whalewatching.

We also drove to Marguerite Yourcenar's memorial house, and visited several other towns for shopping and dining.

Shubert bungalow was driving convenient to all. But not walking distance to anything special.

Owner was responsive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review - I’ll take your views into consideration.
The carpets have been professionally re-cleaned and the DVD player is now working.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladztv
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this property”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you are reading this review than you may not make your mind yet. If it is the case, then just go for it. You have everything you need to feel you at home. On top of it, it is in a very close proximity to the Acadia park loop road ( about 2 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk ) thus you waste no time to explore the park

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyWolf...
Little Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect home base for a fantastic family vacation!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When we say "home base," we mean it. This doesn't feel like a rental -- it's so easy to settle in and is incredibly well stocked, so anything you might need is readily at hand, just as if you were at home. The photos don't do the house justice -- it feels even more spacious than it looks, and the layout is open and airy, with high ceilings in the kitchen, breakfast bar island, and living room area. The beds are super comfortable, the pull-out couch is awesome. There are a ton of DVDs with a range of movies, a bunch of good books for vacation reading, a huge flat-screen TV and cable for those rainy (or just lazy!) days. Every closet revealed a new treasure trove of board games and any supplies you might need for your stay. We enjoyed our days off just as much as our days out -- you can't say that about a hotel room! The back deck overlooks a nice, private yard and is a lovely place to relax and read and enjoy the shade trees. The grill was big and good quality and easy to use. There are a washer and dryer if you need to do a load of clothes, and both bathrooms are large and well stocked with linens. Ginger even has a collection of travel shampoos and soaps in case you forget your own! She's thought of everything. The location was terrific, convenient to everything. We can't emphasize enough how delighted we were with our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the whole experience - it felt like home
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing