We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Reunion-Perfect Location for 24+ peeps”
Sunrise over the Penobscot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise over the Penobscot
View from one of your three decks. Steps take you to your private beach below. The path to our front door lined with beautiful trees and mature plantings.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Sunrise over the Penobscot
View from one of your three decks. Steps take you to your private beach below.
The path to our front door lined with beautiful trees and mature plantings.
First floor family room.
Oz is a downward dog. Namaste.
When it's time to nap the beach shack waits you.
local granite walls line to entryway to the home.
Your own private beach.
One of a kind hand made pine table tat seats 24.
Oz loves visiting everyone staying here.
Welcoming path.
Light house bedroom with half bath and 4 beds.
Deck off second floor bedrooms
Bedroom with deck looking onto the water. June of 2017 this room will have 2 bunk beds installed.
No words needed. You've worked all year, it's time to relax.
Livingroom with working fireplace.
Reading, resting or simply taking in the beauty of our meadow.
One of the paths to our front door.
The view out to The Penobscot never grows old.
Open living, dining and sunroom with a wall of glass facing the ocean and trees.
Beautiful plantings and gardens.
With walls of glass on both ends of the main living room the house is alway filled with sunlight.
Twisting and turning your way back from your beach.
Cookout on your own beach
Relaxing Sunroom with skylights and windows onto the water and beautiful trees. 2 twin daybeds.
First floor King size bedroom with large windows and ceiling fan.
Follow the coast to Sandy Point Park and Steamboat Wharf.
Your 300 foot private beach. Swim, play, cook out explore.
On our beach you can walk for miles on sand and through forest trails,
Sandy Point beach is all yours.
View from the bunk house.
Beautiful peaceful surroundings. Not your average cook cutter home.
Follow the sign you can't go wrong.
Great places to food shop and 2 Farmers markets near by.
Queen bed and twin beds share this cozy room with full bath attached.
Cozy bedroom everywhere property sleeps over 25.
Second floor bedroom with 2 queens different angle.
See more photos at:
Light House Loft with skylight half bath with four beds.
Second floor bedroom with 2 queen beds.
Sunrise yoga on the deck.
second floor library with beautiful with of our meadow.
1st floor queen bedroom with adjoining full bath.
Handrails and steps to second floor from a locally harvested tree.
Construction (eft) of our new two story bunkhouse is underway.
Peaceful Comfortable sofa that can turn into a sleeper sofa.
Water facing deck with bbq grill, lobster cooker and seating for 20
Owners favor place to fall asleep in front of a roaring fire.
Odem's Ledge just off  our beach. 1700's ship wreck artifacts still left uncovered.
Your own Funky Beach shack.
Large colorful artwork from a national know local artist.
Down Steamboat Wharf until you see the ocean turn onto Hersey Retreat Rd and your vacation has begun
Water facing deck with bbq grill, Lobster cooker and seating for 20.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Sandy Point, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kim l
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Reunion-Perfect Location for 24+ peeps”
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start? What a fun, eclectic house with the best dining room table our family has all been able to sit, at one time. The views, the deck, the beach, the seals
made for a memorable, wonderful, fun filled week. Perfect location for all types of siteseeing around Maine. Or perfect place to hang out and play games, sit on the deck and enjoy the sunsets and sunrises or go to the beach and enjoy Smores around the fire. Can't wait to go back...Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2018
Wow Kim, We are so glad you enjoyed your time at The Retreat House and Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We received some great photos of the kids in kayaks with the seals, playing on the beach and a group photo of around 20+ guests having dinner around the large dining table. We love sharing our home with such wonderful, respectful people. Much appreciation and gratitude. Shankari & Paul

The Retreat House
Sandy Point, ME
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Worked out perfectly!”
Reviewed 14 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The location of The Retreat House perfectly suited what we needed and everyone truly had a trip of a lifetime to Maine, thanks in large part to the house, it's location and the helpfulness of the owners. While my wife and I live in Southern Maine, the rest of our 18 person party were from the mid-west or NYC and the location truly showcased what Maine has to offer. The house is high above the water providing beautiful views of the ever-changing Penobscot River and upper Penobscot Bay with fascinating Odem's ledge in the middle of the channel. The 7 kids in our party were able to expend their endless energy going up and down the staircase to the beach as well as playing down at the beach in the water, picking up crabs, snails, shells and other finds. All adults as well enjoyed spending many hours relaxing by the water in the abundant daytime shade. The layout of the house is flexible and allowed our family groups of various sizes to have their own private areas and the large common areas provided ample room for everyone to gather. The location is close to many local state parks, the fascinating Fort Knox and Penobscot Narrows observatory as well as being only an hour from Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor where everyone enjoyed a Whale Watch and the various features of the Park. In the other direction is the enjoyable coastal town of Belfast with its downtown of shops to wander through and restaurants/cafes to eat at. Thanks Paul, from the entire Connors family!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
Hi Andy, Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. Having a Mainer like yourself choosing our Retreat House is an honor to itself. We are so glad you and your family who travel from out of State enjoyed their vacation at Hersey Retreat Rd, Sandy Point. We are glad you had the opportunity to take in many of the fun things to see and do in our area. We also thank you for treating our home as if it was your own. May you and your family have many more years ahead of annual summer vacations together. Best Shankari & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impromptu friendly get together”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Me and some friends and co workers who were all in the region decided together. Found this place by doing a search for lodges close to route 1 Maine, it's literally maybe 2 miles off of route 1, but ALL country.Beautiful outstanding views as promised. Night time clambake on the Penobscot, and daytime excursion to Fort Knox. The whole place was remodeled, very comfortable, enjoyed a glass of wine by the ecclectic fireplace. Owners were very responsive and met all are needs, always answered the phone. Paul & Shankari are genuinely helpful. I had a great time. Anything we needed (Hanneford's) was close by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Thanks William,
You and friends were perfect guests. I'm glad you enjoyed much of what the area has to offer especially our beach. Thank you for leaving the home in such great condition. Best, Paul & Shankari.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager31...
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It was the best place for a big group like us that 's 17 adults,2 kids and a havanese dog. We stayed from Sep. 1 -4, 2017. We love the retreat house,the long hardwood dining table where we always had a sumptuous meal esp. lobsters, the kitchen is great and complete , perfect for cooking for a big group. I love the common open space where we gather altogether , played cards, had games and prayed .The rooms are cosy and clean. The location is special. It is close to grocery Hannaford and just an hour to Bar Harbor /Acadia Park. We attended worship service at Lighthouse Bible Church at Searsport , Me just 12 minutes away from the house. Some of our group visited Fort Knox/Penebscot Narrow Observatory (a must) and others went to Antique flea markets. Thanks Shankari and Paul for allowing us to experience the aura of your property and of course for being so nice. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay though it was short. I hope to be back for a longer stay God willing.May God continue to bless both of you and your business,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Elizabeth you guys are the best! It's wonderful that you made the time to experience many of the sites and points of interest that makes Sandy Point so special. You were so easy and pleasant to deal and we loved the photos you shared with us that are now on our Facebook Group Page: Retreat House Maine. You are very kind. Blessings to you and your family.
Respectfully,
Paul & Shankari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a nice week in the house with all the family (8 adults and 9 children). Plenty of room for everyone and had everything we needed for a fantastic stay. The time down on the beach along the Penobscot was fabulous! It felt like the time went way too fast and was over too soon. Would love to get back again sometime.

Communication from the owners was excellent as they were very responsive and helpful. Totally recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you Tom for bringing your family to The Retreat House. We are glad everyone had fun especially the kids having their own beach to play on. Time does fly by when your on vacation which is why you have to come back again. It was a pleasure having you stay here. Much Thanks. Shankari & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing