We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute and comfortable place to rest”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Riverhouse

House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House
Garden House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
House
Garden
House
Front Portico
View from side lawn
View from deck
Stairs to beach
Beach (looking towards bay)
Shoreline (at high tide)
Old Wharf
Beach (looking North)
Beach (looking north)
Back of house from walking trail
Rear of House
Dining Room
Sitting Area
Sitting Area looking towards living room
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Large Bedroom
Large Bedroom
Large Bedroom
Small Bedroom
Small Bedroom
Large Bedroom
Looking 'downstairs'
View from deck
Shoreline
Beach
Kitchen
Large Bedroom
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orland, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DuchessLe...
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and comfortable place to rest”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the River House in mid-June and we enjoyed the quietness, and the comfort of being only one hour from Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The owner was very friendly and provided us with helpful information to explore the area. The house was clean and nicely decorated (I liked the map of the local area the most) and every necessary item was provided to have a comfortable vacation, just bring your food and wish for good weather! I strongly recommend this little house.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: view from the back porch; close distance from Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park
Liked least: soft mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickyfrom...
Empire, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The River House and Dan are awesome”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I stayed at the River House late in October. While Mother Nature was cranky in the form of a Nor'easter Dan and the Riverhouse was exactly what we were looking for. This was not our first trip to the area but Dan was very generous with suggestions of new things we could do and see. From restaurants to site seeing suggestions he was a wealth of knowledge.

The house was exactly as advertised. The pictures and description were very accurate. I have had experiences in the past where we were met with unfortunate surprises at other rentals. That IS NOT THE CASE with the Riverhouse

Our only disappointment was that our stay was so brief. Mother Nature surprised us with an early snow storm that took out the power. We are a couple of tough girls from Northern Michigan who are not intimidated by snow and did fine without lights and heat for a day and a half, but when Dan told us that we would not get power back for a week we had to bail. Dan was awesome during the storm checking on us frequently and he was so understanding and fair when we decided to leave half way through our planned stay.
Believe me we will be back in the next couple of years and we hope to stay at the Riverhouse when we do.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
408SunnyD...
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The cottage of clever convenience"”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I took our first trip to Maine this October. We had a great time and the areas outside of Orland were plentiful with color. The house was in a nice location. Lovely views of the river whether it was during a full moon, a rain storm, foggy mornings, or bright and sunny afternoons. It was also in a great location to jump off and explore the surrounding areas. We spent most of the daytime traveling the coastal areas such as Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, Castine, Camden, Boothbay, and much much more. It was lovely to come "home" at the end of the day from our explorations to a quiet house and to relax. The owner has put in the energy and creativity to make it feel cozy, and not just a sterile hotel atmosphere. My friend is already discussing our next trip to Maine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The use of a functioning kitchen and the view of the river.
Liked least: The long walk down to the river and the very long walk back.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandSue
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location to Visit Downeast Maine!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Riverhouse for MANY years and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we go to Maine. Acadia National Park, Belfast, Camden, Deer Isle and Stonington: so many terrific vacation spots within an hour's drive. The Riverhouse itself is charming. It sits above the Penobscot River just about where it empties into the bay at Castine. The deck is heavenly, sunsets are beautiful, and this year the field was aglow with fireflies! Our idea of a relaxing vacation iS the Riverhouse. You won't regret the trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the landlord.
Liked least: Occasional road traffic.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C
Cedarville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Destination of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This place was great! My wife and I went here on our honeymoon, which was just before "tourist season" in Maine. The weather was perfect, the house was impeccible and the location couldn't be better. Anything you could want to do in Maine is within a reasonable drive. Dan is a perfect gentleman and an excellent host, if you get the chance have a cup of coffee with him, you won't be disappointed. To sum it all up, my wife and I WILL be returning as soon as we can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was the best, removed from the busier areas but not cut off. It was a short drive from many popular attractions and a lot of the
Liked least: The only down side was that there wasn't wifi included (to my recollection) That was only a downside because work was pestering my wife and I with emails (on our honeymoon of all times!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$850
/
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing