We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location to Visit Downeast Maine!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Riverhouse

House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House
Garden House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
House
Garden
House
Front Portico
View from side lawn
View from deck
Stairs to beach
Beach (looking towards bay)
Shoreline (at high tide)
Old Wharf
Beach (looking North)
Beach (looking north)
Back of house from walking trail
Rear of House
Dining Room
Sitting Area
Sitting Area looking towards living room
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Large Bedroom
Large Bedroom
Large Bedroom
Small Bedroom
Small Bedroom
Large Bedroom
Looking 'downstairs'
View from deck
Shoreline
Beach
Kitchen
Large Bedroom
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orland, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueandSue
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location to Visit Downeast Maine!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Riverhouse for MANY years and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we go to Maine. Acadia National Park, Belfast, Camden, Deer Isle and Stonington: so many terrific vacation spots within an hour's drive. The Riverhouse itself is charming. It sits above the Penobscot River just about where it empties into the bay at Castine. The deck is heavenly, sunsets are beautiful, and this year the field was aglow with fireflies! Our idea of a relaxing vacation iS the Riverhouse. You won't regret the trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the landlord.
Liked least: Occasional road traffic.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C
Cedarville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Destination of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This place was great! My wife and I went here on our honeymoon, which was just before "tourist season" in Maine. The weather was perfect, the house was impeccible and the location couldn't be better. Anything you could want to do in Maine is within a reasonable drive. Dan is a perfect gentleman and an excellent host, if you get the chance have a cup of coffee with him, you won't be disappointed. To sum it all up, my wife and I WILL be returning as soon as we can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was the best, removed from the busier areas but not cut off. It was a short drive from many popular attractions and a lot of the
Liked least: The only down side was that there wasn't wifi included (to my recollection) That was only a downside because work was pestering my wife and I with emails (on our honeymoon of all times!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITYGIRLB...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Half Way to Heaven at the Riverhouse”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A friend and I had been searching for place to meet halfway from the 12 hour distance between us. We are both so glad we found the Riverhouse. The scenery and wildlife and just pure beauty of the area was just what we both needed. The house itself was so quaint and the deck and amazing views made the trip! A few of the most memorable parts of the trip, was seeing a bald eagle hover right above our car while we were driving back to the house. We were in awe! It then circled around and over our heads after we got home and sat on the deck. Also seen were many turkeys, and a baby deer. Coming from the city, it was so nice to experience nature for a change. I would highly recommend this property and last but certainly not least, Dan the owner is so accomodating and kind and a pleasure to rent from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and scenery
Liked least: Morning traffic
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Reviewed 27 January 2012 for a stay in July 2011
12
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing