We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ONE WORD--AMAZING!!!”
The Lainhart Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lainhart Cottage
The kitchen at The Lainhart Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Lainhart Cottage
The kitchen at The Lainhart Cottage
Single bathroom at The Lainhart Cottage
Second bedroom at The Lainhart Cottage
Outdoor Dining Area
Additional Outdoor Dining Set
Entrance / Driveway to the Cottages
Picnic Area for Large Groups
An Overlook of the Pond
The landscape between the cottages
Beside The Elwood Cottage / Driveway
The Elwood Cottage
Just the right amount of natural Light. Come take a looksie from the balcony...at The Elwood Cottage
A breakfast nook and laundry room, too!
The Price is Right!
First bathroom at The Elwood Cottage
Second bathroom at The Elwood Cottage
Second bedroom at The Elwood Cottage
Extras in the second bedroom at The Elwood Cottage
Covered Patio
Outdoor dining area at The Elwood Cottage
Easy Breezy
Smell the Flowers
Daniel Boone National Forest -- View from the covered patio beside the Hot Tub
Hot tub at The Elwood Cottage
From the driveway beside the Pond   *all photos this listing taken May-Oct. 2012
So colorful!
Beautiful Autumn here at Hisel Valley Retreat
*all photos this listing taken May-Oct. 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mc Kee, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EvaandWal...
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ONE WORD--AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My Husband and I decided it was times to get out of Lexington for a short getaway. We had never traveled to this part of Kentucky. Mr Bowen was so gracious to rent us his cabin. The cabin is stocked with plenty of essentials such as dishes, pots, pans, appliances, bed linens, dvd player, large flat screen tv, grill, hot tub, comfortable bed, towels, washcloths, kuerig machine, etc. My husband and I looked @ the map prior to leaving Lexington. It was obvious that once we arrived @ the cabin that it would take a good 45 minutes to travel back into civilization--better known as Berea. This was one of the main attractions for us! This area was the opposite of Lexington. It was quiet, relaxing, calm, --a great remote get getaway. We took plenty of food and drinks--so that once we arrived, we didn't have to leave the cabin. We arrived on Friday afternoon and left on Sunday. We literally hibernated! It was a dream come true!
My word of advice to you is if you decide to travel-go in the daytime--for two reasons. One reason is that you need to see this area in the daytime. The scenery is breathtaking. It is simply amazing how they have cut through the mountain to make the road. The other reason is that if you are like us and not familiar with the area, it would be quite easy to get more than a little lost! Mr. Bowen gives easy directions--but @ night it would still be easy to get lost.
I can't say enough great things about Mr. Bowen. He greeted us with his little doggie Bodge-the sweetest little dog in the WHOLE world. You see- Mr. Bowen and his wife rescue dogs. He has a BIG heart. He also told me that his house is close by. He and his wife feed the deer. They feed the deer 100 pounds of corn every three nights.
We assumed the hot tub would be closed for winter. Mr. Bowen had it all ready for us @ 101 degrees!
Mr. Bowen has created the most wonderful getaway. He built his own home as well as the two cabins. He has chosen to share a wonderful gift with strangers. The Bowen's are remarkable people. He has his wife have created a masterpiece! It reminded me of when I was a little girl. I admired my grandmother's homemade quilts and crocheted throws & the personal touch of pictures and decorations. Of course, Grandma's didn't have a hot tub--but you get my point!
Let me tell you- this was the perfect getaway for us! We needed away from all the hoopla of the city. We love Lexington--but sometimes you need rest and relaxation! Hisel Valley Retreat offered us exactly what we needed! We are already planning a return trip this summer! Thank you Mr. And Mrs. Bowen!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Scenery around cabin / interior of cabin-beautiful
Liked least: Everything was wonderful!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Walter and Eva are great people. I loved having them here and can't wait to see them again.
I thank them for staying with us.
Emery
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roglindsj...
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We came to HVR for our Anniversary ... we had an amazing time! Mr Bowen was very accommodating and the cottage was perfect. We enjoyed our stay and had complete relaxation. It did rain on Fri and Sat, but that didn't stop us from getting in the hot tub! We had a blast and HVR will be the only place we stay when we want a getaway

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTHope
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little quiet in a remote cottage”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Upon arriving, we were greeted by Emery (along with three friendly dogs) and were directed up the hill to the Lainhart cottage. He was very welcoming and took the time to show us the property, which more than met our needs and was well-stocked with a variety of useful items. We enjoyed the privacy and quiet that the cottage provided, as well as the hot tub, and generally just spent our two nights there relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet; hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve a
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at this property for a three night get away. This place way surpassed our expectations. The pictures did not do this place justice. The owner was very gracious. Our stay can not be simply put into words. We can not wait until we have the opportunity to visit here again. Would highly recommend to anyone who is considering renting this cottage/house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion/hot tub
Liked least: Rain every day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Remote”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Elwood Cottage at Hisel Valley Retreat for one night. It was a very hot day, so we walked around the land a bit with our dog, cooked a good meal (used the grill on the porch), and when it cooled down, we went in the hot tub and did some stargazing. The cottage had everything you could need for your stay. Emery was a great host and his dogs were cute and friendly. We would love to go back! It's very peaceful there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing