We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,244)
Filter reviews
2,244 results
Traveller rating
1,547
477
151
44
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,547
477
151
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobby bar club level historic hotel piano player berry pie bell staff downtown louisville southern charm beautiful lobby corner room room was large valet parking an older hotel bourbon trail fourth street live churchill downs hors
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 2,244 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

I understand this hotel has great history, but they also have the worst customer service and need an update.

The car attendants, front desk, and housekeeping seem to have little experience. They seemed overwhelmed, unaware of their customers, or uncaring.

The hotel rooms are incredibly outdated. They just seem dingy. I understand wanting to keep the mystique or history but you can do that without harming the past.

The only positive thing from our visit is the restaurant. We had dinner there and the wait staff was very nice and helpful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Love the historic hotels. Great architecture and atmosphere that cannot be beat. Add in some Southern charm and you have the Brown Hotel. Just a fantastic experience. We'd do it again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Stay on the Club level
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOTROD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thrilled to read your review. Thanks for the nice thoughts on our Southern charm.
Please allow me to handle your reservation when your travels next bring you to Louisville and I will block a nice room.
Hope to have you back with us again soon.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President & General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Brought a motorcoach for dining at The Brown Hotel and experienced The Hot Brown. The service was exceptional. We strolled around and appreciated the architecture of The Brown Hotel. It was Beautiful. Music was playing in the lobby. This experience was enjoyed by all in our group.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Carolyn,
Delighted to read your review.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Look forward to having you back with us again.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President & General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We needed a weekend getaway and Louisville is only 3 hours away. We stayed at the Brown Hotel as we had stayed there before. It was a wonderful stay.The room was nice and clean, and faced the fireworks and air show, a great bonus. We ate at Graham’s and the Lobby Bar and the food was terrific! We both agreed that they made the best Old-Fashioned we have ever tasted. An awesome stay!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank DaveDee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice thoughts on our food and beverage quality.
Please contact me when you next plan to visit and I will block a nice room and ensure we provide another great experience.
Hope to have you back with us.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President & General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The staff and service are outstanding. The style and hospitality are from an era gone by. The food in every restaurant was delicious. This was a classy hotel, that treated their guests like royalty. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Leah,
Many thanks for the “classy” and royalty thoughts.
Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way and I will reserve a nice room and ensure we meet all your expectations.
Hope to have you back with us again soon.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President & General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews