We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to visit Wiltshire”
other travellers have booked this property
Byre 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Byre 2
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Byre 2
kitchen
Double bedroom
dining area
bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bromham, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gi11a11en
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to visit Wiltshire”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Booked for a week in order to visit Wiltshire. Lovely welcome from owners Bridget and Bob, who were very knowledgeable and helpful about the area and places to visit. Byre was beautifully furnished - everything you could have wanted. Personally, we found the bed quite hard - just call me Goldilocks! Homemade cake awaiting us and milk in the fridge, tea and coffee in the cupboard. Lacock definitely worth a visit, Stonehenge and Avebury a must, Avebury manor was superb. Malmesbury was very pretty, as was Marlborough. Local pub was a tad overpriced but easy walking distance. Great week and thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We chose the bed because it was so firm, we thought people like a firm bed! Sorry about that.
We are pleased to help our visitors find their way around and we’re thrilled to be able to point out quirky things such as the tombstone at Malmesbury Abbey for the girl eaten by a tiger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saritaLei...
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing little cottage! ”
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We visited Wiltshire for a couple of days on our way back from Cornwall and booked the Byre at short notice. The cottage itself is a hidden gem. Spotlessly clean, decorated to a high standard, and with everything you could possibly need for a stay. Bob and Bridget were incredibly friendly, leaving us a delicious homemade cake, with homemade jam in the middle and a pint of milk, and loaned us a map for easier exploring. The bathroom came with plenty of towels, and some individual toiletries. More like a hotel than a self catering cottage.
Melksham has every supermarket you could need, a park, takeaways etc. Wiltshire is a beautiful county, and we'll definitely be returning. You won't be disappointed if you book the Byre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for your kind comments.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stopover on your way home. We are pleased to be able to help our visitors in any way we can! We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlegeo...
1 review
“Lovely, friendly base for exploring. ”
Reviewed 28 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We visited with our two young adult children using The Byres as a base for exploring Wiltshire.
The accommodation is wonderful, well equipped and done out very nicely. Bob and Bridget are very friendly whilst not being at all intrusive.
The Byres is perfect to use as a base for visiting Avebury, Bath, Corsham, Lacock and a host of other interesting places.
We would definitely return and have already recommended The Byres to others

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for recommending us to others. We enjoy having visitors and suggesting places to visit!
We are glad that you found the Byres suitable for a holiday. See you again another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2018
Thank you for the kind review. We love meeting people and are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to Wiltshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Apr 2018
We are pleased you came to stay. Thank you for such a great review. We hope your journey home was OK after all the snow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing