We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect spot”
other travellers have booked this property
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
THE GENERAL'S CABIN
Spend sunny days or listen to rain drop on our tin roof tucked under the porch
Just step into this beautiful poplar and oak cabin
Dappled morning light
View from the loft.
Cozy fire
Pet Friendly- No Charge
twin beds with egyptian cotton bedding- get ready for a good nights sleep
Enjoy a good book  or read about the General and his wife
Even cooking becomes a pleasure overlooking woodland views
dreamy days
stocked pond with woodland views
Sun dappled kitchen in the afternoon
picnic by the pond
watch a good movie and tuck in by our second fireplace
Lovely kitchen
Take a peek into the cabin
tree lined drive to the cabin nestled in the woods
Sunny dappled window
Main Bathroom with tiled shower/tub as well as washer/dryer.
Handmade cabinets with double granite sinks in master bathroom
A good read in the master bathroom?
Wall of windows from the outside looking in.
Bathroom with step in shower off second bathroom with twin beds
Relax in comfort on our sectional sofa around a cozy fire.
A peek into the second bedroom with 2 built in twin beds
Sun dappled trees in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beattyville, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
backpacke...
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Absolutely perfect spot”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

You will NOT be disappointed with this cabin! The privacy, seclusion, and proximity to Daniel Boone National Forest make it the ideal spot for a quiet and nature filled getaway. The beautiful decor and warm hospitality of our hosts made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. The cabin is fully stocked with anything you could need or want and the surrounding pond, hiking trails, and night sky views are unmatched for this area. Would recommend the General's Cabin to anyone!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: seclusion, privacy, cozy decor
Liked least: A jetted tub or jaccuzzi would have put this place over the top, but we hardly missed it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A truly magical place”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Simply put, I'm in love. My husband and I visited The General's Cabin for our wedding anniversary and we just loved it. It was beautiful, well-appointed, comfy, and inviting. The owners went out of their way to leave flowers and champagne to celebrate our anniversary (and my birthday, which is the same week!). They also called on our first night to make sure that all was okay and to walk me through the fireplace ignition switch (and answer any questions we might have). We walked the trails on the property, which were terrific, (our dog LOVED it there), visited the pond, and gazed upon the stars at night, which were easy to see in the country. I would love to title my review, "Terrible, don't stay here!" so I can keep this place as our own personal secret getaway, but that wouldn't be nice! When I posted photos of our trip on Facebook we had an overwhelming response of positive responses about how gorgeous the cabin was, etc. We are already planning on returning next year for our anniversary and hope to make it an annual trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin itself was so unique and so beautiful and so clean
Liked least: The winding country roads leading to the cabin were a bit dicey at times for this nervous passenger
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmmet...
New Albany, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Everything was as agreed. Cabin is wonderful. Property is wonderful. Owners are a pleasure to work with. Recommended for a quiet get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assirac12...
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Cabin You'll find in the entire area, secluded, private, peaceful.”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

In the early afternoon of a beautiful September day we arrived delighted to drive down the long pathway, treelined, to the General's Cabin. The quiet sounds of nature immediately relaxed us (except for our babies Ellie Mae and Macy May:) the dogs wanted out right away!
That was just the beginning of what turned out to be the best mini vacation of our lives.
Eventually, after walking around the General's Cabin in awe, we finally took a stroll to the pond with the dogs. I can't remember the last time I felt that serene. The sounds of nature surrounded us, the chairs were very comfortable. Later that night we went back to see the Super Moon reflecting off the pond…amazed at the beauty and peacefullness.
Everywhere you look in the cabin you will find another photo or book or lamp you didn't see before, Joy and Michael take this business to heart…the energy in the cabin tells it all.
The cabin gave me a feeling of freedom, all of the walking trails to hike with the beautiful trees, and all the leaves changing, letting the dogs roam free without worrying about them, the surroundings of the cabin were gorgeous…I am a native of Kentucky, I have been to Natural Bridge many, many times, we never even left the property of the General's Cabin, had no need to.
(if you have never been to the gorge I would like to note it is very worth checking out the attractions there, or to hike etc…)
The cabin itself is literally breathtaking, the ceilings are extremely high, every single room had a uniquness to it, and the ambience was perfection, dimmer switches and huge ceiling fans, the really easy to use fire place, the granite counter top in the large main bath. The beds were amazingly comfortable with plush pillows. There are plenty of kitchen utensils, even a coffee grinder.
I loved reading General Little's Bio, (I believe written by Michael) I took it out to the hammock which is sooooo comfortable and I don't even like hammocks. If you visit the cabin I hope you take the time to read one of the hundreds of books that lined the shelves from classics and above.
I was really sad to leave that paradise built by General Little himself but we will be back with Ellie and Macy who will never for get the word "Cabin!"
If nothing else please take with you the appreciaton of what General Little, USAF did for our country. Had it not been for men, women and Veterans who served our country we would not have the freedom to take vacations like this or people like Joy and Michael to provide it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah...
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Restorative and generative, this place is so much more than a cabin!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The General's Cabin is one of those places that you hesitate to share widely, because it's so special to you. It's also a place that you want to tell everyone about because everyone should have an opportunity to experience this gem. I heard about the place for years before our schedules lined up, and it was better than I could've expected. The drive to the cabin was exceptional, the place was private and had everything we needed. We cooked one of the best meals of our life that evening, and the magic of this place brought out the best in us. I loved the openness of the home's design, the inventive use of windows, the books and maps, and the sense of discovery that was conjured by the extensive trails, pond, and vistas. We had so many memorable moments that it feels hard to believe we were only there for a couple of days. Joy and Michael were kind and thoughtful hosts, and the place was clearly built, and has been maintained, with love and pride. We felt at home at the General's Cabin, and we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing