We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun & super friendly hosts”

Ruapehu Adventure Rides
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Raurimu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We guide quad bike and side-by-side buggy tours through the heart of the Tongariro National Park in the Ruapehu District. Come and experience New Zealand native bush, farmland, where you can cross natural streams, and enjoy stunning views onto the famous Raurimu Spiral, Tongariro National Park, and our volcanoes. All gear will be provided. All our guides are NZQA qualified.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

First of all, many thanks to Maria & Karl and also Jaime for making our day! ☺️
Beautiful day with great fun on the quad bikes. We had booked an hour and a half, but ended up being out for two Even though my boyfriend and I were on different levels, we both enjoyed the ride very much! Hills, forest, small streams and mud holes - it was a blast, even on a dry day where there is not much mud. And Karl took photos, which we got for free.
Really relaxed atmosphere - after the ride we stayed for a chat and a cup of coffee Maria & Karl are such lovely people, we really recommend this experience!
BR, Kat & Kim.

Thank Katharina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Ruapehu Adventure Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"quad bikes"
in 9 reviews
"great hosts"
in 4 reviews
"great fun"
in 5 reviews
"side by side"
in 3 reviews
"incredible views"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 3 reviews
"central plateau"
in 2 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 2 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 2 reviews
"lions tour"
in 2 reviews
"cancelled due"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"native bush"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"adventure rides"
in 8 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Two hours of quad biking today provided lots of fun and excitement for our family of four at this really well run organisation.

Friendly and knowledgeable, Carl and his wife made us feel safe and at ease, despite none of being experienced and the terrain being quite challenging. Beautiful scenery and lots of thrills...we would wholeheartedly recommend!


Thank Tris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Ruapehu Adventure Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Fun fun fun was had by our family on this adventure stop. The owners were great hosts. The track you take has so many different elements that makes it fun and challenging if that's what you want. We will definitely go here again. Thanks guys...

Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Ruapehu Adventure Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you, it was so nice to meet you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Best quad experience we have ever done. We had 3 in our group who have quad biked in 3 locations in New Zealand and once in Cairns and this rates easily the best most technical fun ride we have done. One in our group was also a first timer but with great advice and guidance he did everything the rest of us did and we all left with big smiles and promises to be back. Top rated gear and wonderful, friendly hosts. The location was also a total winner with varied tracks and great challenges. Not to be missed.

Thank rosssilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Ruapehu Adventure Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We booked a two hours ride with Karl and Maria and we had so much fun. They are very friendly and welcoming people. I had never ridden a quad bike before but they take time to explain how to do it and you can train on a track before going into the wild. When visiting New Zealand again we will def pop by raurimu and have a ride again. Def recommend it for adventure seeking people :) !!

Thank Maude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Ruapehu Adventure Rides, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruapehu Adventure Rides also viewed

Been to Ruapehu Adventure Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing