We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Away from it all - but close enough to plenty”
other travellers have booked this property
HEN LLETY on right and our granary Ysgubor Hen up on left
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
HEN LLETY on right and our granary Ysgubor Hen up on left
HEN LLETY WITH PARKING AREA IN FRONT
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
HEN LLETY on right and our granary Ysgubor Hen up on left
HEN LLETY WITH PARKING AREA IN FRONT
Kitchen, lounge and dining area
Bedroom with ensuite bathroom
SANDY BEACH 700 METRES WALK FROM HEN LLETY
SANDY BEACH WITH HOLYHEAD MOUNTAIN IN BACK GROUND
TREFADOG BEACH  500 METRES STROLL AWAY
LOUNGE /DINING/ KITCHEN AREA
TREFADOG BEACH GREAT FOR FAMILIES
Woody by rock pool on Trefadog beach looking towards Holyhead mountain and incoming ferry
Hen Llety and Ysgubor Hen with Trefadog beach in distance
Arial view of Hen Llety/Ysgubor Hen and beautiful coastline
SUNSET OVER TREFADOG BEACH
Flamingo resident horse who likes carrots but hates apples
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Llanfaethlu, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrisJMan...
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Away from it all - but close enough to plenty”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It was evening of the day before we travelled that we found Hen Llety online. We were concerned that we weren't giving the owner chance to get back to us. We were pleasantly surprised to receive an email very quickly and full directions and instructions soon after making payment.

Those directions made Hen Llety easy to find - though if you are a nervous driver, the single-track road that leads you to the property may seem daunting. We met vehicles on two occasions and there's no problem if you take your time and concentrate.

We received a warm welcome from the owner who showed us around the property, which does not take long. It seems small but it's deceptive - after a very short time, we appreciated the size of the bedroom, bathroom and lounge/kitchen/diner and they are all big enough. Add in the generous parking space and the large patio area (with sun loungers and barbecue) and you really won't feel cramped here. I'll just say this - my wife and I started to wonder if we could live in a space like this and get rid of some/most of our current clutter.

It's spotlessly clean and the rooms are very well appointed. Once you have worked out which switch controls which light, you have Freeview (and Freesat - make sure you don't overlook that), plus a DVD player and stereo. You can get comfortable very quickly. And we did.

The view over the farmland from the large double door reminds you that you are removed from urban life but nowhere takes very long to reach by car. If we hadn't stopped on the way, I think we could have got there from Beaumaris in maybe 40 minutes.

Holyhead is not far and, thanks to the A55, nowhere on the island is hard to reach. Your nearest petrol is on the way to Cemaes, maybe 15 minutes away. Try to see Cemaes if you can and seek out Llynnon Mill. It's the only working windmill remaining in Wales. And it works hard - the day before we went they had milled a 1/2 ton of flour! We were lucky enough to see it running when we went and were utterly enchanted by it.

The nearest beach (Trefadog or 'Sandy' Beach) is about 10-12 minutes walk and from there you can follow the coastal path round to Church Bay. Parts of the path are overgrown but you can follow it easily enough. At Cable Beach, the path goes straight ahead in the direction you're going - don't let the signs mislead you. It's worth pushing on to Church Bay for the views and for the Wavecrest Café, which I'll mention in a separate review. I should point out that there are two points on this walk where you find yourself in a field with cows - you'll know when you get to them. We took it very gently, and found a way to avoid them on the way back. A decent map should help you do the same if you don't like to share your walks.

In short, a few days here and you'll feel like you have had a break and seen something different. We would not hesitate to revisit this relaxing spot on a lovely island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The road down there, but this is the countryside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Wow! What a very comprehensive guide to our property and surrounding area. We are very grateful to you to have taken the time and effort and given us such wonderful comments, I'm sure our future guests will be pleased to be able to picture themselves here having a wonderful peaceful holiday. Yes the Wavecrest cafe is well worth visiting as well as the Lobster Pot Restaurant in Church Bay. Thank you and hope to see you both here some other time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spent an enjoyable week's holiday here. Fantastic cottage. Lots to do nearby - we particularly enjoyed walking to the Lobster Pot restaurant in Church Bay one evening (about an hour's walk each way).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write some nice comments for our little cottage. We are glad you had a relaxing break and. Hope to see you some other time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina...
Bromborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“"wonderfull"”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Beatrice & David for lovely week at HEN LLETY.
Cottage had everything what we wanted and more. Fantastic very comfortable and warm house. Nice garden and amazing view. It was the best holiday. Our son already miss it his friend the dog Woody. We can't wait until next year to visit again.
Heartily recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you both for such a great review. We are glad you had a wonderful time here and that your little boy loved playing with Woody. We loved meeting you and hope you will be back next year. Thank you also for leaving the cottage in such clean pristine condition, I really appreciated it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip L
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed Monday to Friday what a lovely cottage ideal for that secluded get a way,large open field if you take a dog to run around in two beaches to pick from only a ten minute walk away the cottage it self was very comfortable and well equipped we will be returning soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write some lovely comments for our little cottage. We are glad you had a lovely time and your labrador Daisy enjoyed the field and beaches. We look forward to seeing you again soon and Woody our Jack Russell loved playing with Daisy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing break”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I have just returned from a 3 night stay and would like to echo all the other reviews. It was a lovely break. The cottage was perfect, everything had been thought of. Nice comfy bed and complimentary toiletries. It was in a good location, only a 10 minute walk to 2 beaches and good for getting around the rest of Anglesey. Lovely view over fields from the patio. Anglesey really is beautiful in the sunshine. The bottle of wine and cake on arrival were a lovely thought and much appreciated. Bea was very welcoming and her little dog Woody was a welcome visitor! As a solo traveller I felt very comfortable and safe. I will definitely be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Glad you had a nice break here in Hen Llety and you enjoyed having visits from our cheeky little Woody. Your photographs of the South Stack Lighthouse and Woody are fantastic. Thank you for your kind comments and we would love to welcome you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing