We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
schlegal1
Rural Virginian

place to satisfy both comfort and adventure seekers

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2016via mobile
As noted in another review, you can't book this place online or on Trip Advisor, you must contact the hosts via email and book a package with them. Then for payments you need to plan to wire money to them for a deposit and then either wire final payment or bring cash.

We booked four days and loved it. Michel and his wife are excellent hosts and they employ friendly, wonderful staff. They have good relationships with local indigenous people so we were able to visit a Wounaan village and see their way of life and their crafts (this included an opportunity to buy but while that was a bit awkward, there was absolutely no pressure or begging from the women displaying their wares).

We visited the province's capital, La Palma, and spent most of that day checking out Spanish fort ruins and seeing some wildlife on the lake.

Our other days included nature hikes that were wonderful--full of interesting flora and fauna with an excellent local guide. We saw lots of great wildlife and had fun doing it.

The lodge is rustically enchanting. There are traditionally styled round thatched buildings that have comfortable beds with mosquito nets and en suite bathrooms (cold water only) and a porch with table and hammock in the back. We felt quite comfortable in our peaceful room, which is open to the outside so you enjoy the night sounds and air. The main lodge has the dining area and we loved our evenings spent with our hosts and other guests where we enjoyed cocktail time and then a delicious meal. I am vegetarian and they easily accommodated me. Breakfasts were also delicious. You also get the company of loads of hummingbirds, two cute parrots, two dogs and can enjoy the pretty grounds.

Michel and Elizabeth take care of you from the moment your journey begins until you bid them farewell. Only Michel speaks English and they are both fluent in French and Spanish.

Bring your bug spray and sunscreen and long pants are a must for the hikes. We got kind of either eaten up by bugs or covered with poison ivy while we were there so take care to keep protected.
Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
72.1 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
posada
Contact accommodation for availability.
72.1 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
72.3 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Restaurant
Garten / Essbereich
Contact accommodation for availability.
72.2 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
71.8 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Fitness centre
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
72.1 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
71.7 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
73.8 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Beachfront
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.7 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
70.8 km from Filo del Tallo Lodge
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Meteti
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
21
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We had an amazing trip to the Darien for 4 days and stayed at Filo del Tallo. It was a wonderful place to stay as well as beautiful. The huts were rustic while being luxurious at the same time-just ideal! The combination of excellent meals and hospitality by Michel and his staff made it all the more memorable. We got to go on really interesting hikes through different parts of the rainforest with a local guide Lincon who was very knowledgeable about all the wildlife and plants in the Darien, so we were able to see and learn a lot throughout the trip. We also went on a boat trip through mangroves and to the gulf where we saw dolphins and then through a river in a dug-out canoe which had amazing views of plenty of wildlife. In addition to that, we had the unique experience of visiting villages of two indigenous tribes in the Darien which made the whole adventure complete! Definitely the biggest highlight of our travels around Panama.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Michel welcomed us to his home in the jungle and treated us like family. The location is ideal with mountain top views, abundance of wildlife and a pristine garden environment. Each meal was delicately prepared and served and a gastronomical delight. The tours and guides he coordinated where fantastic and activities varied between indigenous tribal villages, net fishing, river exploration and kayaking. Dani, his assistant, was attentive and delightful and a wonderful addition to the already spectacular adventure. Memories were made and are treasured...

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We've enjoyed our total stay in Panamá, but the stay in the Filo del Tallo Lodge and the many things we've experienced in the rain forest made our vacation unforgettable. Everything was perfectly arranged by our host, Michel. We felt like family and were treated not as ordinary guests, but as VIP's. Excellent breakfasts and dinners were served at the lodge, and we ate together with Michel and our guide, Lincon, who was an enthusiastic guide. We've learned about the jungle, about Darién, but also about the history and culture of Panamá in general and Darién in particular. Michel had so much to share with us and we enjoyed his stories.
The Lodge itself is simple, of course, but with the basic things you need: A good bed with anti-mosquito net, a shower, a toilet. It was really Paradisely, waking up in the morning on the sound of monkeys who were setting out their territory.

Room tip: There are only three lodges, we had, if I remember well, lodge number 3, which had one double bed and two single bed, divided into three compartments.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Paradise? maybe it's here. Perfect place, perfect hosts, perfect crew, perfect food.. So peaceful.. Landscape is so beautiful, and Michel has always many things to share, to tell about Darien. Discovering the rainforest with its indians is something so interesting, so unique. Please protect future of such places. Just contact Michel. If u go there, u'll never forget it.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank systembenlaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I were visiting our daughter who is in the Peace Corps, serving in the Darien of Panama. She assured us we would never find a decent place to stay near her site. We went through out travel agent and were thrilled that she had contact with an adventure group in Panama who set us up at the Filo del Tallo Lodge. It was a wonderful experience and Michel was a great host who gave us a lot of information about the area, the people, and the culture. We did not get to experience all that his usual guests experience because our main goal was to visit our daughter although we did take a dug out canoe down the river to the Wouhnaan village and spent a day out on the river seeing dolphin and local sights. I am only giving this a 4 star rating because we have actually experienced the very highest level of lodging in Adventure safari travel in Africa and this did not quite hit that level, but is probably the best you are going to get in Panama, and especially in the Darien. In addition, Michel has a true heart for the area and the people. I also know we were there during the low season, and the lodge was not functioning at full capacity. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants a ecofriendly but gracious and comfortable exerience in the heart of the Darien.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank netway5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews