We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic will come again”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cwm-y-Glo, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Chez2269
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“50th birthday celebrations”
Reviewed 26 February 2019 for a stay in February 2019

On arrival this property looks lovely However.... this house needs a deep clean and then regularly a good clean in between guests. The lounge area is bright & spacious but the couches are filthy under the cushions the floors are dirty nothing had been moved and cleaned the kids socks were filthy after walking around. The bunk bed room is very dirty under the bunk bed... lots & lots of dust & dirt and unfortunately this was the case in every bedroom... all the bathrooms were not clean lots of grouting issues the shower heads are rusty just generally uncared for ... the televisions in the bedrooms mostly dont work but to be honest The size of the are not worth having anyway ... the bedside lamps were dirty and if you like to read before going to sleep they were neither use nor ornament. Big issue with the water temperature when we rang to report it we were told we all couldn’t take a shower at the same time so getting up & ready for the day wasn’t great!!! Some off us just had to grin and bear a cold shower so the kids could have the warm ones !!!!!!
Overall this property could be fantastic as in great location and the pottery was fabulous the kids really enjoyed that .... such a shame about the overall cleanliness.... we only stayed for 3 nights so reporting the issues we had could never of been resolved within this time limit.
The owner Barbara was a bice lady the welsh cakes flowers milk & tea were a lovely touch on arrival but personally I would of forgone this welcome to have stayed in a clean house sorry but unless the issues above were rectified we most definitely won’t return

Date of stay: February 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2019
Good Afternoon Chez2269,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry that you felt the cleanliness of the property was lacking, the house had just had a full professional deep clean two days before your arrival to get it ready for the new season. The owner has certainly taken on board your comments regarding the mattresses, though this can be subjective and hasn't been mentioned previously.
I'm very sorry you did not raise these issues during your stay as, although you feel we couldn't have resolved these for you, we would have loved to try and assist you in any way possible to ensure your time away was as good as it could be!

Thanks again for taking the time to let us know your comments.

Kind regards,

Becki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sos20e
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic will come again”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Incredible place, friendly welcome and the kids loved the on site Piggery Pottery. Spacious, all bedrooms had on-suit bathrooms, highly recpmended

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanthac...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Upon arriving things looked fantastic but once we settled in we noticed a few issues.
Living room
1. The setters in the lounge were so flat that the owner has stuffed thick mad boards underneath which makes the setters ridiculously uncomfortable.
2. The dirt under the setters was disgusting clearly never been moved.
3. The sky did not work and no instructions left.
4. There is a water stain in the living room next to the sky light i noticed this was reported in 2013 but has still not been resolved.
Downstairs bedrooms
1. The bedding was so filthy we had to strip the beds on the first night.
2. The amount of dirt on the floors and under draws was disgusting.
3. The bathroom in the downstairs double was so badly moulded on the ceiling above the shower i dont know how the ceiling is still up.
Bedrooms upstairs
1. The bathroom in the bedroom above the living room area are full of extreme mould.
2. The large bedroom the ensuite was filthy.
3. The two sofa beds were at breaking point and one actually collapsed.
4. The cot upstairs is unfit for any child out of the 11 women that went we are 10 are parents and would never put our children in it.
Kitchen
1. Cupboards are literally falling off their hinges
2. Fridges were filthy
3. Draws were falling off their runners.
4. Glassware chipped excessively

From pictures and past reviews you would think this house was rectified all looks well on the outside. Unfortunately we will not be returning and will be asking for our money back. We will also be reporting the disgusting and hazardous conditions of this house.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
The property owners have provided the below response.


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Ddol Helyg.
We were very sorry to hear that your stay fell short of expectations as we
have a lot of people staying with us and I have to say that your experience
is not typical - we normally get really positive feedback.
We appreciate that we cannot get it right all of the time but would hope
that if something is really wrong we would try to rectify this during your
stay.
There is a handyman on site who would have been available to perhaps put some of your points right if we had been informed a little earlier than
when you were leaving.
We realise that an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your
experience, nevertheless we do extend it in all sincerity.

We take all feedback seriously, and have since addressed your comments with our handyman and cleaners.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
1 review
“Very disappointing...”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Unfortunately the property was filthy!

There were cobwebs and spiders attaching lamps to walls and ceilings in all rooms.

It clearly hadn't been swept or hoovered as he floor was covered in dark grey dog hair.

The upstairs bathroom adjoining the bedroom with sofa bed leaked into the lounge rendering it unusable.. this was reported on trip advisor in 2014 but was still doing this last week!

The bathrooms and showers especially had hair and mould in them and the bedding was awful. The duvets didn't fit the duvet covers so they were continually becoming tangled.

The property was advertised as having wifi which it did but this was shared with the adjoining pottery business meaning it was inaccessible.

There was no information at all in the property regarding the local area, property details or comments/guest book from previous visitors.

The house was also situated on an extrealmy busy and noisy road which is not stated in the details.

We are very disappointed and feel for the money we paid not even basic cleanliness expectations were met.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelley K
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and welcome”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A group of 10 female friends had the barn for the weekend and we had a marvelous time. We were welcomed with welsh cakes an bara brith, tea coffee and fresh flowers! The barn is laid out well with plenty of places for wet coats, walking boots and a comfortable lounge for a large group.

We really enjoyed our stay, thank you very much.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.