We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Cyndy Cook”
Review of Ngunguru Takeaways

Ngunguru Takeaways
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Ngunguru
Cuisines: Fast food
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 September 2020

Came to visit friends we were looking forward to getting fish and chips as had been great in the past but man were we disappointed fish was dry and the batter extremely oily dripped all over us mussels were obviously from frozen and over cooked chips half were burnt and reheated. Most disgusting meal we have ever had never going back.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank CyndyC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2020

We have been going to this place for the past 15 years, and it has always been good. But this last time we went, the fish was not good at all. It was overcooked and didn't taste fresh. The batter on the fish was okay, but it didn't make up for the taste, and the dry bits of fish. The kumara chips were alright, but now you have to pay for sour cream - whereas the last owners would always give you a swipe of sour cream that was included in the price. Should have been wary because it was lunchtime on the weekend and there was no line out the door. They may have new owners? Just a heads up - because it was always consistently good before.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank L_DTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2020

Thought we would try this takeaway as suggested.. service was fast. The food was okay , if you are looking for greasy / deep fried this is the place. Once we took off all the batter the fish was good. We tried the snapper and John Dory. I ordered the prawn skrewer didn’t realize that it would be deep fried also. They don’t supply with you with napkins or forks etc. It was busy with lots of people stopping and ordering.. Tried it once won’t be a repeat visitor.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank riders-sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Not sure why the hell anybody is complaining about wait times at peak holiday season in a remote area of NZ with minimal food facilities....we waited 10 minutes on a normal Friday night. Food was EXCELLENT. Shop made wontons were tasty as. Big salad filled cheeseburgers with cheese expertly melted onto the patty. Chips with perfect crisp/fluffy balance. Very friendly efficient staff. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Well we arrived into Ngunguru at 7pm on Friday night after travelling from the UK and we ordered snapper and chips. My youngest always says she hates fish but scoffed the lot! Very fresh and I’m sure over the next couple of weeks whilst at the beach we’ll pop in again. Super friendly staff and shared a wee joke with us when my hubby said a fish supper, I quickly corrected and said Snapper doll. Ok and the aioli was divine!

Date of visit: December 2019
3  Thank Fordie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ngunguru Takeaways also viewed

Ngunguru, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Ngunguru Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.