We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch overlooking the water.”
Review of Ngunguru Takeaways

Ngunguru Takeaways
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Ngunguru
Cuisines: Fast food
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Four of us decided to go out on Easter Saturday and grab some fish & chips at Ngunguru Takeaways to enjoy by the water. Fish & chips had by three and I had a Hawaian Burger. Our friends are back from a tour around USA, Canada & Alaska and when I found the Hawaian burger to have no lettuce & tomato commented that's how you get burgers in USA, no lettuce. Burger was fine, fritters & chips all good as well & deep fried banana covered in cinnamon & sugar was real yum. Asked for chips & fritters well cooked, as we love them crunchy & that's what we got. Very nice and more that happy to go back again. Place was spotless with staff very pleasant and friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We'd explored the coastline around Whangarei which is beautiful and were ready for something to eat. Our B&B owner at Lupton Lodge had recommended this place and he was absolutely right! Fish of the day was snapper which was freshly fried in light batter and delicious. Add to that the best crinkled chips, crisp on the outside and soft on the inside and you have the prefect fish and chip supper. UK chippies have a lot to learn! If you're round this way make sure you drop in!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Pretty much the old fish and chips place .... not too greasy .... not too dry .... pretty much the average i would say.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank TambonzRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Friday night fish and chips take away has never been so good. Fresh snapper was the best I have had and only $20 for two pieces and chips was great value considering the restaurants in the area are charging over $30 for one piece.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

this was actually the only store open in Ngunguru and they had quite a good range of food offered on the menu. Also some drinks. For anyone who likes a typical fish and chip shop this is it!
Might make sense calling before and then pick up what you ordered :)

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Selina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ngunguru Takeaways also viewed

Ngunguru, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Ngunguru Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.