We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Salt Air Cafe

Salt Air Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ngunguru
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Very disappointed. Having recently moved here we were excited to go for our first breakfast but were sorely disappointed. The service is slow and appalling. When you place your order at the counter it is laborious. We ordered an omelette and a pie and a coffee. Basic right? Apparently not. Took about 5 minutes just to get the order taken. My omelette, pretty average arrived first. The waiter then asked if we'd ordered anything else so he could take our number table sign. We had to repeat that we were still awaiting the pie(already warm right at their deli counter) and my coffee. Another waitress eventually showed up with my coffee and we were again asked if we had ordered anything else. By now my omelette was already eaten and we had to even tell the waitress what kind of pie we had ordered. Eventually got pie. Bog standard pie that tasted like we could have picked it up from the local petrol station. Huge thumbs down. Coffee not arriving before or at least with the meal a big no-no. And the coffee was cold to boot. Luckily since this experience we have been told by locals the other spot to get a real breakfast.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boomerlausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2023

First time here in my neighborhood, and will be my last.
No excuse as there were only 2 other couples here (no wonder!)
My pot of green tea was like only half full at best (small pot), he forgot my mussel fritter. So were detained.
The couple next to us said their coffee was disgusting.
Just telling how it is.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saltydaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2022

Visited twice, brunch and dinner. They are well known for their pies, but we'd also recommend their curries and the superb generous mussel fritters.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2022 via mobile

We called in here passing by & got 2 gluten free muffins to go. We used them the next couple of days & wow. They were tasty, delicious warmed for 10 seconds in the microwave. We stopped again next time passing & also got some gluten free Louise cake to go. We heated one muffin & shared for the next few days. They are really good. We are not from the area & don’t often buy take home food as it is rarely so tasty or tempting. The Louise cake was able to be cut up & also shared. What a great find!!

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank mortein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2021

My friend and I had the seafood chowder for lunch and were bitterly disappointed with what was served up to us.
There was no fresh fish/seafood of any kind in the chowder - just pre-frozen seafood and loads of surimi, which we all know is imitation crab meat. The 'creamy chowder' was thick and gluey and had a type of skin on the top. Also the bread that came with it was stone cold.
Both my friend and I had uncomfortable tummies after leaving the cafe.
The whole eating experience was disappointing and I will not be recommending this establishment to any family or other friends.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevgayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Ngunguru, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Salt Air Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.