We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Chowder not recommended!”
Review of Salt Air Cafe

Salt Air Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ngunguru
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 July 2021

My friend and I had the seafood chowder for lunch and were bitterly disappointed with what was served up to us.
There was no fresh fish/seafood of any kind in the chowder - just pre-frozen seafood and loads of surimi, which we all know is imitation crab meat. The 'creamy chowder' was thick and gluey and had a type of skin on the top. Also the bread that came with it was stone cold.
Both my friend and I had uncomfortable tummies after leaving the cafe.
The whole eating experience was disappointing and I will not be recommending this establishment to any family or other friends.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevgayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2021

disappointing with our $15 for 1 takeaway piece of snapper tonight, the mussel fritter we gave to our dog and chips average. Shame and wont be back, sorry but have to let you know our meal was disappointing and expensive

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

Yummy pizza, curry, salmon and snapper. Friendly. Went two nights in a row. Would have liked to get a milkshake.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank MalandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Just was passing Ngunguru back to Whangarei. Saw the cafe sign -was apprehensive and thought - probably very average.
But anything but. Delicious Snapper- best probably I've had at cafe, chips were crisp, and a lovely salad. A complete meal and a clean little cafe. Young staff need a bit more training otherwise I wish this cafe well.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank lukimplenti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2020

The fish and chips last night 08 May 2020 were outstanding.
Added to our first extended bubble get together immensely.
Thanks Salt Air.Legend.

Date of visit: May 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Passenger499152
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Ngunguru, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Salt Air Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.