We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe Snapper have eaten - Yum!”
Review of Salt Air Cafe

Salt Air Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ngunguru
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Just was passing Ngunguru back to Whangarei. Saw the cafe sign -was apprehensive and thought - probably very average.
But anything but. Delicious Snapper- best probably I've had at cafe, chips were crisp, and a lovely salad. A complete meal and a clean little cafe. Young staff need a bit more training otherwise I wish this cafe well.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank lukimplenti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2020

The fish and chips last night 08 May 2020 were outstanding.
Added to our first extended bubble get together immensely.
Thanks Salt Air.Legend.

Date of visit: May 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Passenger499152
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2020

This café is really tucked away and its outlook isn't the greatest. Even so we were rather amazed by the number of people lined up for both sit-down and takeaway food and beverages. The menu comprised an extensive array of low to mid priced café items such as burgers, pizzas, fish and chips, pies and the like. The pies in particular seem to enjoy a big reputation. Our party only had coffee and scones so we were not in a position to comment on food quality but if you're looking for a big hearty meal at a modest price and don't need too much finesse, the Salt Air Café might be your best bet in Ngungaru.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

Had two lovely meals at this cafe. Breakfast smashed avo delicious and an evening pizza. Nothing flash about the place, just good food with a smile. Would recommend and visit again.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank SPRive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

Nice friendly and accommodating staff. Good selection on menu, for takeaway or dine in. Gluten free options including fish, chips and pizza. Also has some lovely local art works on display and for sale. Kids burger and chips was very generous size!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank algiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Ngunguru, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Salt Air Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.