We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, GF options”
Review of Salt Air Cafe

Salt Air Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ngunguru
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

Nice friendly and accommodating staff. Good selection on menu, for takeaway or dine in. Gluten free options including fish, chips and pizza. Also has some lovely local art works on display and for sale. Kids burger and chips was very generous size!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank algiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2020

There are not a lot of dining options in Ngunguru (pronounced NUN-er-roo), but this is a good one. It has a large enough menu to handle a variety of preferences, including vegetarian. Don't be put off by the fact that it says "Fish & Chips" - the menu has pizzas, sandwiches, breakfast food & salads. The staff is excellent, and it is co-located with a frozen yogurt trailer, allowing smoothies to be ordered from the cafe when the trailer is open. Coffee and beer also available. Family friendly, and we had no problem getting seating. Takeaway available.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2019

I enjoyed several morning teas and meal on this visit to Ngunguru. Always go back for the Seafood pies and great coffee, but also enjoyed the Scallop dinner.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wander32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2019 via mobile

2 takeaway coffees and pie for $18.50. That’s expensive. Pie was ok, but not worth $7.50. The flat white was good thankfully.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank O_Norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

We rarely go to the same place twice while traveling, but we made an exception for Salt Air Cafe. Lunch was so good we returned for an early breakfast the next morning. Our waitress both times was delightful, and the food was delicious. I would suggest the French toast with bacon and banana, and my wife and friend said the pies were excellent. Coffee was good, too. Wish we could go back!

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Ngunguru, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Salt Air Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.