We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service”
Review of Salt Air Cafe

Salt Air Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ngunguru
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 November 2019

I enjoyed several morning teas and meal on this visit to Ngunguru. Always go back for the Seafood pies and great coffee, but also enjoyed the Scallop dinner.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wander32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2019 via mobile

2 takeaway coffees and pie for $18.50. That’s expensive. Pie was ok, but not worth $7.50. The flat white was good thankfully.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank O_Norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

We rarely go to the same place twice while traveling, but we made an exception for Salt Air Cafe. Lunch was so good we returned for an early breakfast the next morning. Our waitress both times was delightful, and the food was delicious. I would suggest the French toast with bacon and banana, and my wife and friend said the pies were excellent. Coffee was good, too. Wish we could go back!

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2019

Salt Air is a gem in Ngunguru. In the past few weeks, on a holiday in the area, I have been for lunch, dinner and to buy their amazing pies to take away. The food is interesting, fresh and delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful and were willing to adapt meals to taste if requested. Salt Air is a casual beach style cafe with indoor and outdoor options and a great, relaxed feel about it. It is licensed or BYO for a fee. Did I mention the pies? Delicious!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dotcrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

Year's ago we were introduce to Salt Air Cafe pie's by a friend. Now everytime we go through Ngunguru we make sure we plan a visit to Salt Air Cafe for one (or two or three :) ) of their many amazing pie's. Even my wife who doesn't like pie's asks are we stopping for a pie. My only recommendation would be to try it yourself if you are visiting the Tutukaka coast.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank IJL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Ngunguru, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Salt Air Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.