We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cafe”
Review of Salt Air Cafe

Salt Air Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ngunguru
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 November 2019

Salt Air is a gem in Ngunguru. In the past few weeks, on a holiday in the area, I have been for lunch, dinner and to buy their amazing pies to take away. The food is interesting, fresh and delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful and were willing to adapt meals to taste if requested. Salt Air is a casual beach style cafe with indoor and outdoor options and a great, relaxed feel about it. It is licensed or BYO for a fee. Did I mention the pies? Delicious!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dotcrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2019

Year's ago we were introduce to Salt Air Cafe pie's by a friend. Now everytime we go through Ngunguru we make sure we plan a visit to Salt Air Cafe for one (or two or three :) ) of their many amazing pie's. Even my wife who doesn't like pie's asks are we stopping for a pie. My only recommendation would be to try it yourself if you are visiting the Tutukaka coast.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank IJL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2019 via mobile

Called into the Salt Air on a rainy day for a cup of coffee, but the menu was so extensive that we decided to stay for lunch. This was served promptly and was very good.
It is obviously very popular with locals and passing workers alike and has a fun atmosphere. Nice experience.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Only cafe at Ngunguru but well stocked display cabinet and a menu on the wall to choose from. We chose fish and chips. Nicely cooked and came with a side salad.
You had choice of inside or outside seating. It was okay, no complaints, just a bit tired looking. Would go again.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2019

Our family of four each had a different meal from the brunch menu. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Friendly service. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Riley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salt Air Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Ngunguru, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region

Been to Salt Air Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.