We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$307
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kelsi C
Invercargill, New Zealand

Picturesque spot with lovely accommodation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024via mobile
Really lovely place to stay, the cottages are so nice and have everything you need. Good value for money - you get delicious breakfast boxes delivered to your room and you have a 45 minute wine tasting included in your stay. Stunning views of the vineyard and going for a walk around the grounds is so pretty, especially in autumn. Beautiful buildings and setting, very friendly staff. The only thing I think we should have been informed about was the grape picking that commenced on the Sunday at 8am as the pickers were blasting their music and the dogs roaming around came into our room. Wasn’t an issue for us, just thought it should probably have been mentioned.
Thanks for a great stay.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: The harvest of their grapes in autumn could potentially affect some people’s stay as there is...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicky Sygrove, General Manager at Kinross Winery - Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 1 week ago
Hello,
We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our little added extras! In regards to the grape harvest, we’re sorry that we didn’t inform you. We'll learn from your review to improve the guest experience in the future. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review. Support like this means so much to the team and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind regards, the team at Kinross.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.9 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$758
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $758
4.6 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Farmhouse - Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
6.8 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $307
  • Expedia.com
    $375
0.0 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$737
  • Hotels.com
    $737
  • Vio.com
    $737
  • Priceline
    $737
12.8 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $489
  • Hotels.com
14.7 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
14.4 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
16.7 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
18.2 km from Kinross Winery - Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gibbston
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
627
72
17
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
627
72
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting gibbston valley cellar door hot tub amazing wine pinot noir relaxing stay tasting experience stayed longer self catering new zealand comfy bed our honeymoon wine club arrowtown valli ducks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2024

Thank you Kinross Winery for a perfect saturday in autumn. Very professional staff, very kind and helpfull aswell. We went for the chefs menu with pairing wines. A truly feast of delicious chosen produkts and ingredients with delicious wines. We will be back to try some different dishes on the menu and wines. Soak in the stunning scenery from the surrounding aswell.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GijsJongeneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicky Sygrove, General Manager at Kinross Winery - Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

HI there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We have a small team so they will be thrilled to read this! How fantastic is the weather right now, just stunning. Thank you so much for your support, we hope you can visit us again sometime soon. Warm regards, Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

Friendly, skilled staff offered great info on wine choices and the menu. A celebration 65th birthday, 26 year wedding anniversary a great reason to spoil ourselves with a lazy Sunday afternoon at Kinross. Live music was a bonus with Neil Chilton on guitar and harmonica.

Room tip: Highly recommend booking ahead.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aeg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicky Sygrove, General Manager at Kinross Winery - Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave some feedback for our team. So pleased you enjoyed it so much. Neil is the best isn't he? We are so lucky to have him as our neighbour. Warm regards, NIcky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

Went to Kinross for lunch. The wine and service was very good. But found our meals lacking. My venison was undercooked and difficult to cut with knife provided. And while my 3 little pieces of potato looked good they didn't suffice for vegetables. My wife's deconstructed Caesar salad consisted of crumbed chicken (not unlike KFC), cos lettuce and only a sprinkle of other ingredients. Found our meal disappointing. But the wine was fine.

Room tip: You must book in advance.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicky Sygrove, General Manager at Kinross Winery - Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hi David, thank you so much for leaving your feedback for us. I'll be chatting to our head chef directly about this. Appreciate your thoughts and hope the rest of your visit to Gibbston was lovely. Warm regards, Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

My sister and I celebrated her 50th birthday here and everything exceeded expectations. The room price included hot tub and wine tasting (both of which we used) and an in room breakfast box (full of delicious options to suit every taste).
The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble and they were diligent at checking everything was ok. They even left a Happy Birthday cake plate for her on arrival.
The room was large, well decorated and had everything we needed. Highly recommended and we are likely to come back.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank razza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicky Sygrove, General Manager at Kinross Winery - Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hi there, thank you so much for your message. So pleased the birthday stay was a great one! We appreciate your support and hope to see you again sometime soon. Warm regards, Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024

Our package included wine tasting hot tub & breakfast described in our booking email as “the breakfast buffet has a range of delicious hot & cold options that include bacon eggs mushrooms fresh pastries fruit homemade granola yoghurt & fresh juices.”
However when we arrived for breakfast we were advised that there was no longer a hot breakfast & there was only a limited quantity of cold food plus bread with only honey as a spread. The other cold offerings weren’t too appealing.
The highlight was the barista coffee ! Wish we had known about the change to the breakfast menu & we would have brought our own food to make.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Boles de Boer, Marketing at Kinross Winery - Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Hi Stevep,
Thank you for leaving a review and highlighting the change in our breakfast offering. We changed this a few weeks ago and sent out the updated information to all of our confirmed bookings.
We have moved to a breakfast box which guests are able to enjoy in the comfort of their room. This has been popular as the mornings are now cooling off, this is the perfect way for you to enjoy your breakfast in the comfort and warmth of your Cottages. Our breakfast box incorporates a lot of the items that were on the breakfast menu so no one is missing out. We also have added Nespresso machines into all of the rooms, so all of the coffee lovers won’t miss out. Our Bistro will open at 10 am, so for those who prefer the barista coffee option, you can grab one then as you check out, before you set off on your adventures.
All the best, Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews