We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$273
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
155
11
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
155
11
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting wine club winery tour luxury break beef cheeks chef's menu wine maker e bikes cellar door pinot noir private location bike trail rooms are gorgeous every single staff member bikes provided labour weekend welcome drink
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

We would have loved to give this a 5 but the check in service very poor.. no offer to take our back to the room.. no towels in the bath room..no mention at any time of the other facilities on site.
The rooms are very well appointed except for the noise can easily come from the adjoining rooms

Room tip: If you wish a quiet night ask for a stand-alone cabin
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Marketing at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kruuza,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review and we do hope you enjoyed your stay with us in what was quite extraordinary times. We have spoken to our staff about the lack of offering to take your bags to your room, which is our standard procedure, as well as the lack of towels in your room. Please understand, we had just been advised we were going into level 4 lockdown and there was a lot going on behind the scenes to say the least. It appears in this situation that our mad scramble to start the closing of the lodge has resulted in the team missing a few things. We do apologise that we didn’t hit our usual high standards.

Hopefully you will get the chance to visit us again in normal operation and experience the true levels of service we provide.

Kind regards,
Chris - Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Beautiful accommodation and facilities. However, a few things weren’t as promised and at the price you pay for a night’s stay, we didn’t feel it was acceptable. We could accept that “due to staffing issues” the complimentary wine tasting in the cellar could not take place. We were offered an alternative, less formal, tasting at the bar in the lodge restaurant. The tasting was highly enjoyable but the restaurant service was just OK. It is unacceptable to bag out other guests, particularly when it was apparent that the staff became very annoyed at us as the night progressed. What will be said about us to future gusts?

One of the spas was out of commission and we only managed to grab a 30 min slot at the last minute.

We are keen runners but there was no prior notification of most is the nearby trails being closed.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hannahcP3135TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Marketing at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hannah,

Thanks for taking the time to place your review. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful accommodation and facilities of offer.

Just a couple of clarifications. We do offer a complimentary wine tasting for all of our guests. This is not however always held in the cellar. Depending on the number of guests we have for wine tasting, we either provide a bespoke personal tasting at the bar for 2, which we did for yourselves, or use our conservatory and on occasions the wine cellar, pending availability. Like yourselves, we receive fantastic feedback about the personal experience the bar tasting provides. I will add however, it appears that on this occasion, the personal service crossed the line, as we agree, gossiping about other guests is a major step too far. We will of course, very politely, remind our team of this. It is great that we can use your review to show how conversations can be taken.

In regards to the hot tubs, we run two hot tubs which are complimentary and exclusively for the use of in-house guests – these are booked on a first come first serve basis. As we empty and do a full clean on each spa at least once a week, we have two days each week that we can only have one spa available due to the time it takes to come back to temperature. We are glad however that you got to experience the hot tub.

Overall, I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks again for the review.

Kind regards,
Chris – Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

There's probably not enough superlatives to describe how wonderful the service and attention to detail exists at Gibbston Valley Lodge. Chris (Lodge Manager) and team do an amazing job at making your stay the most memorable imaginable.

From the smooth check in process you're led to your Villa which is beautifully set amongst the iconic and award winning vineyard. The Villa is very well appointed with a lounge area which features a gas fireplace, a large smart TV with a huge selection of movies and a bar area with a generous selection of Gibbston Valley Wines.

From here you head towards the master bedroom which features a very modern and spacious bathroom. A his and hers basin, vanity dressing table, a deep bath tub and a luxurious shower.

The beauty of Gibbston Valley is that it's only a short drive away (20 mins) from Queenstown CBD but you're essentially in heart of Pinot Country. The Lodge is perfect for a couples getaway and if you feel like relaxing or lounging around the room is definitely perfect for that as it has all the creature comforts that one needs.

The dining area is set beautifully in an open plan room which also features a well stocked bar and a lounge area with a stunning fireplace for those cold winter nights. There's a Sauna which is available to all guests to use and a couple of Hot Tubs which can be booked as well. This is located conveniently next to the Spa.

There's a complimentary wine tasting at the bar each day from 5.30pm which is very popular and features Gibbston Valley's extensive range. Maggie was a phenomenal and hilarious host for us with extensive knowledge. Would recommend booking this through the concierge when checking in. A surprise feature of the Lodge is a movie theatre with two screenings a day.

I'd highly recommend the private dining which we had the pleasure to enjoy. The wine pairing is a must for those who enjoy a gastronomic journey. My dish of the night would have been the 8 hour sous vide Octopus.

95% of the ingredients at the lodge are sourced locally which bodes extremely well for local produce and suppliers. Breakfast was included in our package and it featured a mixture of a la carte and buffet of fresh fruits, cereals, pastries and breads.

I've had the privilege to travel extensively for both work and leisure and I have to admit that the service at Gibbston Valley Lodge ranks amongst the best I've ever received. Here's just one reason why the lodge went above and beyond for us.

Our package included a 3 course dinner which we chose to do on our last night at the Lodge. Unfortunately we had a very tiring day and were in the mood to stay in instead. We asked them if all the meals could be delivered to the instead which they happily obliged with.

However, instead of dishing all the meals together, Chris and the team hand delivered each course to our room separately accompanied by a couple of glasses of complimentary bubbles to ensure that we didn't miss out on the dining experience.

All the staff are very friendly and attentive and I would highly recommend staying at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa to anyone. Whether you're a fan of their wine or just in need of some RnR your experience here will be extremely memorable.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shamaligans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Marketing at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shamal,

WOW! On behalf of the whole team, thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of the property. As a team we always strive to exceed guest expectations, it seems we achieved this on this occasion. This makes us all very happy.

From all of us at the Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa, it was a pleasure to look after you both and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,
Chris - Lodge manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights, and wish we would have stayed longer! The rooms were amazing - clean, comfortable and everything you need for a relaxing getaway. The restaurant was delicious, both breakfast and dinner. Wine tours (complimentary tasting and the cave experience) were both excellent. Special thanks to both Alex and Lee for those! We also both had an incredible massage at the Spa too - thanks Cami! Wonderful weekend and couldn’t fault a thing.

Room tip: Pick up shuttle from QT was super handy as we didn’t have transport.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank amyscott0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Marketing at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Hi Amy,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and are delighted to be able to pass on your kind feedback to Alex, Lee and Cami. We hope that we will see you staying at the Lodge again soon.

Thanks again,
Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Surprised my wife with 3 nights at resort. Thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing time we had. Staff are very good - nothing is too much trouble. Friendly environment with down to earth vibe. Definitely coming back.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidwZ8350AX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Marketing at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Hi David,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it gave you the chance to truly wind down and relax. We are very pleased to hear that you will be coming back for a second visit and look forward to seeing you and your wife soon.

Thanks again,
Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews