We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and Convenient”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Living room
Kitchen
Living room
bedroom with two twin beds
bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Michigan City, Indiana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda C
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy and Convenient”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

On a quick weekend trip to the Michiana area with two friends, stayed in Michigan City at Lighthouse Apartments. We had the first floor apartment with 2 bedrooms and a bath, a large kitchen and cozy parlor/sitting room. It was a clean comfortable place with attractive décor, very conveniently located to downtown, restaurants and directly across the street from the LIghthouse Outlet Mall. One bedroom has a t.v., the other does not, but there is a really big t.v. in the sitting area that is basically brand new. Both t.v.'s have DVD players, too, tho we did not take advantage of those. In fact, we had some trouble figuring out how to use the main t.v., but talked to the owner at the end of the trip and she said she was going to put out some very specific directions for it's use in future. Kitchen was stocked with some drinks and pretty much any dishes, utensils and the like you'd need for meal preparation. Has stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker. A large chalk board in the kitchen contains lots of suggestions about places to visit, eat, etc. Bathroom is small, but sufficient. Did not spend a lot of time in the apartment, but time spent there was pleasant. Front steps are quite steep and could benefit from a railing, which we were told was being planned for - right now it would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems to navigate them, but apparently that is to change. The owner is accessible by phone and friendly. Overall a nice welcoming place to stay.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cozy siting room
Liked least: Could have used some bedside lighting.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and clean and very nice owners”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was my man's birthday and we stayed 2 days (from Monday to Wednesday) and the place is completely stocked and very clean, and directly across the street from the mall and a short driving distance to the beach. Darlene is everything other reviewers mention, very sweet and accommodating. I would recommend staying here and plan to stay again myself.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regjay
The Cincinnati Region
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall a nice place to stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the ground floor 2 bedroom apartment. Overall, it was a nice place.
Pros-clean, close to town and the outlet mall, owner was very nice owner to deal with, apartment wasn't lacking any supplies, seemed to have everything we needed for our stay.
Cons-this apartment is a little older than the others. Our friends stayed in an upstairs apartment and it seemed a little newer/modern. My mom stayed with us and liked our older style apartment better so I guess it's just a matter of taste. There could be a lot of street noise at times, evenings and early mornings. The street this is on is pretty busy and this apartment faced the street.
All of the apartments have very old, dated televisions. I realize you don't go on vacation to watch tv but it's nice to have for the mornings, nights, etc. These old tv's don't even have remotes to turn them on/off and adjust the sound. We were transported back to the 70's!
HOWEVER, Darlene stopped by one night and we mentioned it would be nice if she could upgrade the TVs sometime. We came back from being out all day and there is a brand new 40" television sitting in front of our door! We hooked it all up and installed it for her and it was very enjoyable to have for the rest of our stay. She said it's her goal to replace the TVs in all of the apartments eventually.

Point being, Darlene is a very sweet lady that really does try her best!

We would stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close to town and the outlet mall
Liked least: televisions (but that was fixed, see my review) and street noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DingerBin...
Three Rivers, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy Getaway”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for a weekend with friends from Chicago. I am from SW Michigan and this was a perfect half-way meeting point. We attended an event at the Four Winds Casino, which was a short drive away and spent another day shopping at the Outlet mall just across the street. The rental was cozy and clean and the owner was sweet and very accommodating. My review fell short of an 'Excellent' only because some of the surrounding neighborhood / area looked a little run down, but not once did we feel in danger or afraid, the entrance and parking were in a very open and well lit area. It is worth mentioning as well that there are several unique shops and boutiques and Farmer's Market just a couple blocks, walking distance down the street. This rental was very well worth the $$ and in my opinion, a more comfortable stay than a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The proximity to Outlet Mall, Casinos and local shops
Liked least: The lack of gutters and proper drainage at entrance area when it rained
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XXXBarbar...
Diepholz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A homely place”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed with 2 Persons in the apartment for 11 nights and it was comfortable. It was fully equipped as promised and had enough space to put our own belongings away. Air condition and heating (we needed both) was working excellent. A nice porch to sit outside for a cup of coffee - and a very quiet spot at night. Just a few hooks in the bathroom to leave the towels would be my only suggestion for improvement. Darlene was friendly and helpful - Thank you! We had a good time in your house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing