We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Harry W

HIDDEN GEM

Review of The Lindis
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2024
Amazing!! and Great value.
Having recently stayed in Big Sur , California THIS IS A MAJOR STEP UP at half the price.
Beautiful room, Amazing views, great wine selection, even the lower priced NZ wines like Paroa bay chard were fantastic. Great food , but best of all is the serenity and peace and quite of this location. Very romantic for couples..and far from the madding crowd.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$287
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $257
  • Agoda.com
    $223
  • travelup.com
    $336
55.0 km from The Lindis
Free parking
Restaurant
The Quadruple Ensuite at the Melbourne Lodge
$279
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $223
  • Agoda.com
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $231
106.2 km from The Lindis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$340
  • Expedia.com
    $339
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    $340
102.5 km from The Lindis
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
$368
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
106.6 km from The Lindis
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$379
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    $398
  • Hotels.com
    $379
108.6 km from The Lindis
Free Wifi
Free parking
$350
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    $350
  • Algotels
    $343
  • Expedia.com
    $350
106.9 km from The Lindis
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$319
Fully refundable
  • Doubletree
    $319
  • Expedia.com
    $319
  • Hotels.com
    $319
102.4 km from The Lindis
Restaurant
Room service
Guest room
$279
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $279
  • Hotels.com
    $279
104.9 km from The Lindis
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
$290
  • Tripadvisor
    $290
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
108.3 km from The Lindis
Free parking
Pool
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
$195
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $195
  • Tripadvisor
    $195
100.4 km from The Lindis
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Otago Region
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
39
3
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
3
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews e bikes stunning views the river luxury lodge out of this world hot tub a special place main building new zealand fly fishing modern design down to earth excellent value for money landscape cuisine picnic opportunity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

The Lindis exceeded our expectations. The setting is pristine and spectacular with wide views looking down the valley. We stayed in one of the little pods and were happy we did so. Private with outside tubs and views of the stars. The staff was excellent - personable and service oriented without being overbearing. Opportunities to do high end experiences like heli- hiking - or stay low key and e-bike or hike. Food was very nice - a touch “overwrought” - but everything was enjoyed.

Location and staff are what makes this place special. We will return and would recommend it to anyone.

Room tip: If you want privacy, stay in one of the little pods. It’s a little hike to the main lodge, but well worth it in my opinion.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sisterpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024

Amazing stay. My wife and I spent two nights at the Lindis in January in one of their private pods. The Lindis is located about 20 minutes off the main road - and the drive is well worth it for the remote location and absolutely stunning views when you arrive! The team at The Lindis were brilliant from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We arrived on a rare cold (around 5 degrees) summers day, but this did not impact our stay – we ran a hot bath (which you can do from inside your pod) and had a lovely time in the hot bath looking at the beautiful scenery. The next day was warmer, and we went on some lovely self-guided walks (equipped with our GPS and radio in case we needed help or wanted a pick up!) and an incredible horse ride through the forest. The horses were so well behaved, and the guides were very friendly and even took my wife for a gallop through the paddock when we got back which was an amazing experience. On our final morning, we took the Ben Avon trail to the top of the mount- the views were superb and well worth the walk up - it took us around 2 hours in total. The food was exceptional, with an a la carte breakfast and choice of lunch or picnic to take with you, and a multi-course dinner. Although the dinner was a set menu, we were shown the menu earlier in the day and could ask for anything to be changed if we were not completely happy- we didn’t need to worry though, every course was a delight! Overall, the best couple of days and would highly recommend staying at the Lindis to anyone!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Wow, wow, wow!!!! Had an absolutely fantastic experiance!!! Amazing views, fantastic staff, wonderful food.
Trout stream, horses and lovely rooms!!! The black diamond lunch experiance is a must do!!! We had an amazing romantic experience from arriving at the door until our goodbye coffee

Room tip: Do the black dimond experiance
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WineTrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023 via mobile

I’m a real fan of TripAdvisor, but I have to take issue with any website that could allow The Lindis to be rated as only the 17th best hotel in the Otago region.

This lodge, which is nestled miles down the Ahuriri Valley, can only be described as breathtaking. I really can’t find enough superlatives to describe the location, the lodge, our pod, the views, the food and the professionalism and warmth of the staff. I am up to about 400 reviews on TripAdvisor (I said I’m a fan), and this really is one of the very best places I have ever stayed.

I know somewhere is great when I can’t stop taking photos. Here, I took so many. So many! I can’t imagine not coming back here.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Londontripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

This was such a wonderful place to stay during our trip to New Zealand and truly memorable. The location is stunning but our whole experience at the hotel was great. Photos don’t begin to do justice to the panoramic views to be seen from pretty much every window. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. What we also liked was the intimate feel of the hotel, which has relatively few rooms but allows for attentive, personalised service as a result. We chose to stay in a pod as we felt that offered a bit of fun and added sense of adventure and were really pleased with that choice. The pod was very comfortable and, in addition to a lovely bathroom, had a bath on a veranda area which we made good use of following a long ride around the vast and picturesque hotel grounds.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews