We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your HERE!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Your HERE!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Wonder Lake, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Redrunner...
Plain, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway!!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Every year my husband, son, and I celebrate my brother's birthday with him over a weekend of camping. We usually went to Minnesota but decided to stay at Wonder Lake this year. Unfortunately my husband could only get away from work for a few days but we spent Fri, Sat, and Sunday at the cabin. Ray is an exceptional host! We had many questions prior to our arrival and he always responded immediately (less than five minutes)! That was fantastic! It shows he really cares about his guests experience at the cabin. All 3 of us adults had a blast, even though the weather did not cooperate. We never got to put our boat in the water but we still had fun. Our 11 yr old had the time of his life! He did not want to leave. We have two large dogs and the large fenced in yard with many trees and neat landscaping was a huge hit with them. They loved the yard even more than our yard at home! The fact that there was a patio, fire pit, and grill were all bonuses. AND the three season front porch was great to hang out on when the rain just wouldn't quit. The cabin was very clean and Ray thought of everything! Our stay could not have been more perfect. We definitely will return next summer but for a week instead of only a few days. We highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a "home away from home". It felt so much like home that all four of us called it that at various times over the weekend. The beds were comfortable, as were the couches. It was great that there was a dvd player (as it rained most of the time...lol), air conditioning, and wifi. The lake is beautiful and only a very short walk away. Our son fished from the dock and their were walleye and muskie jumping everywhere. We noticed in a previous review there was mention of possible mold in the basement but our experience was that was not the case. I am highly sensitive to mold/mildew and hubby and I took the basement room and were fine. It was dry, did not smell musty, and there was a dehumidifier running. We have no complaints. In fact, I have an issue with most hotel (yes, even expensive ones) bathrooms. I cannot stand to use a toilet, sink, or shower that has any kinds of stains, grime/build up, cracks, etc. The bathroom at this cabin was pristine! Huge plus in my book, especially as I have such a hang up about bathrooms that are not 100%.This was our best experience renting from an owner. Book this place, you won't regret it. It is where family traditions/memories are made.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner provided an exceptional experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkjb1985
Elgin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adorable cabin get away!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked the cabin for a girl friend's get away and absolutely loved it! The cabin was very clean, perfect size and perfect for what we wanted. It is not updated but decorated in a very rustic style. Which we loved. Ray is very easy to work with and the whole reservation process went smoothly. He was especially accommodating when we had to reschedule!
The cabin is close to the lake and swimming which was a huge plus to us! It was so nice sitting on the beach watching the sunset. It's close to antiquing, shopping and other activities. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you Kim! You and your guests were a pleasure to host! I look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess-and...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cottage in Wonder Lake!”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is now my third stay at the cottage. I call it my sanctuary, refuge from the city. The cabin is cozy, yet surprisingly larger than what it seems. The large, fenced in yard is perfect for my dog, who may love coming up here more than I do! The fire pit and grill make it even better. Granted, it isn't the Ritz, but that's not what I want from a cottage, especially at the rental price.

The beds are super comfortable, has all the amenities one should expect of a cottage. I'd actually say more, as the cabin provides linens, towels, dishes, and cooking supplies.

I absolutely love it here, and as long as you don't expect the Ritz, I promise you will too!

Great for a family, a couple, or a single person, looking for pure relaxation!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceegee76
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing deal”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Honestly, probably the best deal if you're looking for a lake cabin within close proximity to Chicago. Clean, quaint log cabin has a lot of history. Only 1/2 a block from the lake. And Ray is an exceptionally gracious host. Highly recommended. My family will definitely be staying there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin R
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple with all the Basics - Great location!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cabin has all the basics for a quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. I loved that it is pet-friendly and has a big yard with a grill and fire pit. The kitchen has most basic tools but if you need anything special - like a colander - bring it with you. The house could use some updates and a good deep cleaning of the carpet (it is pet friendly, after all) and there are some mold issues in the basement, so if you are sensitive to mold/mildew, it could be an issue. Overall, I would recommend if you are not fussy about luxury accommodations. The location is hard to beat - 1/2 block from the lake and close to Woodstock, Richmond, and Glacial Park Conservation area for antiquing, shopping, hiking, etc. Lake Geneva, WI is also only 20 min. away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: ants in kitchen/mold in basement
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Thank you for your stay at the Cabin on Top of Cedar! I am sorry that you did not find the Cabin stocked appropriately and felt that there is a mold issue in the basement. There is not mold in the basement, rather it is musty from lack of use. I do rent the cabin as a basic rustic cabin, not a play on words, but rather reality of the cabin. This is a no frills, rustic stay less than an hour from Chicago or Milwaukee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing